Goodbye Sunny, Hello Wellington


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
May 5th 2009
Published: May 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Friday morning looked like another rainy day, so I decided to do the 4 and a half hour drive from Napier to Wellington. The drive was nice as we passed through farmland, winding mountain roads, hills, waterfalls and even red wood forest. One thing that boggles my mind in this country is the contrast or the quick changing of the scenery as you drive. It feels like you are driving through postcard after postcard for hours on end. Anyway, Sunny and I found ourselves in downtown Wellington around 3:30 on a Friday afternoon. Traffic was bad, alot of streets are one way and I was completely lost. So after maybe 45 minutes I did find the tourist office. Then the problem of parking arose. I ended up parking blocks away from the tourist office and having to walk. They directed me to my hostel which then directed me to parking (about 20 minutes away). I spent my first few hours in Wellington frustrated with the whole driving thing. But once I got some food I was all good again. Sunny got returned to the rental company on Sunday morning, and I must say that I was happy to see her go. She did her job, she got me to Wellington.

Over the last few days I have been casually taking in the sights here. I have been to Te Papa which is a huge museum with a varied range or exhibits. My favorite being the giant squid in which a giant squid is enclosed in a glass case. And also the 3D film about squid was quite interesting too (I think i just liked wearing the funny glasses). Saturday night went out on the town. Wellington is a very busy place on a Saturday night, with the streets lined with bars large and small. The coolest thing I have done in this town, was hike Mount Victoria. Well hike is not the word, the word walk is much more accurate. I met some people on the way and relaxed on the grass overlooking Wellington with them. It was a beautiful sunny day on Sunday so it was perfect to take the cable car to the Botanical Gardens. Yeah I looked and trees and plants, it was pretty but I didn't learn anything.
Yesterday I filed for my revenue number and passed out resumes. Job searching is just as much fun as I remember it. But I guess I did job search in a DARE shirt and I blew up my electric razor so my ginger beard is getting thick. Nobody wants to hire somebody who looks homeless. If I find work I may stay here for a while, if not I may be South Island bound.

Last night we went to trivia night and a bar here in town. We did quite well or so we thought. We had or bar tab,which was the prize, all planned and spent long before they announced the winners. We finished 3rd of 6 teams so all we got were a couple mini chocolate bars. Maybe it was a good thing to not win the bar tab. So I have been enjoying my time here in Wellington. It is a pretty city with a lot of character, the people are friendly. So no real excitement here, no extreme sports in the near future, maybe a bit of employment in the near future. Or maybe a trip to the South Island where everybody has been telling me to hurry up and go to. We will just see what tomorrow brings...



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



11th May 2009

Deadly, mate! Keep them coming, you big fat bag of douche! You write very well!

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0196s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb