Student Night


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
March 18th 2008
Published: March 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 167 - Wednesday 5 March

We watched Arsenal beat AC Milan in the champions league before making our way over to Picton. From here were going to take the ferry over to Wellington, New Zealands capital. The road signs we passed on the drive there were absolutely rubbish (usually they're great) and directed us a really long way to get there. It took so long we only just made it to the ferry in time and almost ran out of petrol.

Just over 3 hours later the ferry pulled into Wellington harbour which is right in the centre of the city. Although our hostel is right in the centre of the city which is handy for the bars, theres no car parking and with it being pay and display everywhere we had to dump the car about a thirty minute walk away. Once settled we bought a crate of beer. Finally we've found somewhere in New Zealand thats got nightlife. With a university close by and a whole host of bars nearby it should be a good night particularly as its already busy and its only 8pm.

After drinking half the crate we ventured out ourselves. The first pub we went to was expensive at 3 pounds a pint but with a live band it was busy enough and had a good atmosphere to it. All the students kept walking by so as we were on a budget we decided to follow them. Its a big student night in town tonight so they should know some cheap places to go. We ended up in some club called Mayer where its just over a quid a beer, a quid a tequila and best of all free to get in. As it was student night there you needed student id so it was lucky I had my Bangkok student card with me. The bouncer seemed to give a dissaproving shake of his head as if to reply what are you doing here you old bastard but pointed a finger in the direction of the door indicating I could enter anyway.

The club itself was full of hot kiwi girls even though they are 10 years younger than me. Now many people have told me they wish they could go back to uni again with the knowledge they have now. Well I tell you you've still got to seal the deal and its still a hard thing to do. Even full of confidence following my previous few months I failed and I did try. I guess my nights at student clubs are numbered, and I should stick to girls my own age. Even so it was a great night just what I needed.

Day 168 - Thursday 6 March

As it had been about 4 am when I went to bed last night it was late morning before I got myself up. Although a little tired I don't have a hangover so thats a result.

Russ had left the PSP charger back at the hostel on the south island and now the batteries have run out im struggling to cope with my addiction to Championship manager, so we went into town to buy a new one.

As the museums free here we also popped in there to have a look. It was great with loads of modern displays and interactive tv screens. We ended up spending the whole afternoon there and and I'd definitely recommend it.

As tiredness was setting in i'm having a quiet one today so spent the evening doing some research on the internet. I'm staying in a ten man dorm so was amazed to find that 6 of the other 8 roomates were already fast asleep when I returned at only 9:30pm. I don't mean to sound too negative but i'm on holiday even if it's for a long time. Half nine come on! Thats why I haven't thought Oceania hasn't been great its been the same story everywhere i've been there.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb