Goodbye to the South


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
March 9th 2007
Published: March 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So now I'm in Wellington. Sad to leave the SOuth, was fab. SInce I left Nelson I've had a lovely time relaxing in the Malborough SOunds. I stayed for 3 nights at a wonderful little 'eco-retreat' recommended by Debbie (thanks). Lochmara Lodge was so peaceful (besides the 9 person dorm...). I met a nice German couple, and we hung around. Went for a leisurely walk on Wednesday along the Queen Charlotte Track, and had great views of the SOunds. It rained for only the second time since I arrived - but it actually was a welcome relief after climbing the hill - and it was only a spot of drizzle. I had my meals cooked for me by the resident chef - the best food I've eaten, delicious. Yesterday I just chilled all day at the resort - lay in the hammocks, had a quick swim (a bit chilly, but very refreshing) had a massage, watched the stars from the spa.... Just what I needed.

This morning I took the boat back to Picton and went for a quick spot of swimming with dolphins (as you do..). They were great. I take back everything I've ever said about dolphins. We
Looking WInd SweptLooking WInd SweptLooking WInd Swept

on the queen charlotte track
swam with 6 bottle noses. They were much bigger than the duskies I saw at Milford, and seemed curious to know what these stupid humans were doing splashing around in snorkels and flippers.

Then this afternoon I came across to the North island on the ferry (which I nearly missed thanks to the poor directions in the lonely planet - but it all turned out ok in the end!). Trying to get my head round city life again - cars, etc, but leaving in the morning - back to the 'bush'.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Lochmara LodgeLochmara Lodge
Lochmara Lodge

a nice spot for relaxation
DolphinDolphin
Dolphin

aren't they great


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb