Phase 1 coming to and end


Advertisement
Published: March 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I have to admit I wasn't in top form when I blogged from Rotorua last weekend. I wasn't in a very good hostel and it was also probably the unfriendliest one I'd stayed in to date. I mean, I appreciate some people who travel solo do actually want to be alone, I understand that, but if someone walks into the communial kitchen and says hello (and that's all, I don't cling to people), the least you can do is reciprocate. It reminded me of a discussion with an English guy I met at my hostel in Ahipara a few weeks ago, who was rather wistfully telling me how he had this wonderful idea of sitting around a table in a hostel making new friends, but it hasn't happened. I don't know, are people getting unfriendlier? Anyway, when I moved on to my next hostel in Taupo and the receptionist spoke with a thick Cork accent, I knew all was right with the world again.

So ever so slightly lonely last weekend, and very tired! But saw what was good in Rotorua. However, regardless of what I'd heard in advance, I did NOT get used to smell! Even when at Wai-O-Tapu on Monday morning, I was still gagging.

Like I said above, after Rotorua came Taupo. Which is NZ's skydiving capital. And so, when in Rome...well, everyone feels the need to do something dangerous when in NZ, either a skydive or bungy. I don't think bungy is for me, whereas my attitude with the skydive was that all the responsibility lies with the guy you're strapped to. I almost didn't get to do it, it was cloudy the day I had planned on doing it, and even though I was booked for 10am, it was 1pm before we were airbourne. And I found out later if we didn't go then, we were never going to get to do it that day. Anyway, all my nerves came to nothing and once I was out of the plane I was fine. It was bloody cold up there though! And it didn't feel at all like I freefell 10,000ft in 65 seconds. At 5,000ft the chute opened and from then it was just a case of admiring the view.

Moved on from Taupo on Weds, and headed for New Plymouth via Tongariro and State Highway 43, renamed as the "Forgotten World Highway." Low cloud ruled out doing the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, so just did a drive-past, the 3 volcanos in the park looked amazing though. I really liked New Plymouth, with the mountains on one side (Mount Taranaki) and the sea on the other, what's not to like?

Sadly, a few nights later I found myself in another possible candidate for the "Worst town in New Zealand" title- Palmerston North. Less said the better really. Though in its defense I did think Kaitaia was still worse.

Anyway, I've now arrived in the capital Wellington, which will be my departure point from the North Island on Tuesday. I've just had a day here so far, but I've been impressed, I was expecting an administrative centre, but it seems more than that. I'll fill in more in my next blog.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1104s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb