Culture Shock


Advertisement
Published: March 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My first week was the hardest. I don’t know why I didn’t think it would be, but man it was rough. I cried, I got mad, and I racked up a huge phone bill (according to my mom). Being this far away from home for the first time isn’t easy. And since I’m not here for a vacation, it makes it even harder at times. The days are so long and I’m learning to take things one day at a time. If I don’t, I freak out knowing that I’ve been here for only two weeks (when it feels like a month) and that I have 18 more weeks to go.

I realized that ‘Culture Shock’ is a real thing, and NOT a fun thing. So many people (including myself) think that because New Zealand isn’t a 3-world nation that it’s not that different that the US (especially since they also speak English), but let me just tell you IT IS! The English is a lot different and so is the way they live. Between their accent and the different words used, it’s like speaking a foreign language.

The country has two main groups of people, the Mauri’s and the Kiwi’s. The Mauri people almost look Hawaiian, and the Kiwi’s are more English looking and sounding. I’ve met a few people who are from England, and there are quite a few Asians as well. It’s pretty diverse here, but overall the people are so nice and welcoming. And just like the English, Cricket and Rugby are the big sports around here.

The country is more family oriented....they spend more time with family and less time out and about. Most places around here close down by 6pm (except for Thursdays when things close around 9pm). It gets a bit frustrating at times when you’re used to everything being open until 9pm on a daily basis. I think spending time with family is a great thing, and most families in the US don’t do it enough. It brings closeness and forms great communication.

Let me give you a few examples of some words they use that are equivalent to the American terms we use:

Restroom=Toilet
Trunk and Hood (of a car)=Boot and Bonnet
Tons (a lot)=Heaps
I Think or You Think=Reken (this is used down south in the US too)
Right? or What?=Aye.....and I’ve already found myself saying this at times
Parking Lot=Car Park
Gasoline-Pretrol
Cookie=Biscut
Late Night Snack=Supper
Dinner-Tea (they also drink tea, it gets confusing at times, haha)
Mom=Mum
Living Room-Lounge
Sanctuary (of a church)=Auditorium
Garbage=Rubbish
Call someone=Ring someone
Candy=Lollies
Cart=Trolly
Bathroom Sink=Basin
Not a Problem=No Worries
You’re Welcome=It’s Okay
Beef=Mince
Flip Flops=Jandles

They also used different measurements. They use C instead of F for temperatures, Kilometers instead of miles, kilograms instead of grams and liters instead of gallons (and when it comes to gasoline, it costs about $6 a gallon here)....I guess we really don’t have that much room to complain paying $3.30.

Toilets are in a separate room from the rest of the bathroom stuff. And the toilets, I can’t wait to take a picture and show you.

They don’t have central heat so in the winter (which is coming along shortly) the houses have room size electric or oil heaters. And air conditioners are out of the question. But it doesn’t get that hot here so they really don’t need them. I’ve noticed that this culture is very efficient. They use what they have and try not to be wasteful in any way (which is a great thing, but hard for someone who isn’t used to doing it).

Dryers aren’t used here until winter time, or if it’s absolutely necessary. They hang everything out on a line or on a drying rack. So basically don’t try washing something the day you need to wear it because it won’t be dry in time.

The driving here is CRAZY! The roads are so narrow, the people drive too close to others, and because the roads are so hilly and curvy (constant winding) I get so car sick. I don’t have a car so I ride the bus and walk to the places I need to get to daily. This is probably one of the hardest things for me yet. I’ve had my own car for 9 years, now I have to depend on other people and my own 2 legs, hahaha. I decided I’m not going to learn how to drive here because I want to still know how to drive normally when I get home. It’s so weird that they drive on the opposite side of the road and in the opposite side of the car.

I don’t mean to make it sound so negative here, it’s really not all that bad. I’m still getting used to it, I’ll get better and eventually become natural. People thought I was a snob when I first got here, but after a few days they saw that I wasn’t. They realized that this is just a huge adjustment for me.

That completes todays entry, until next time.......

Advertisement



25th March 2008

Culture Shock
It sounds like you are in England! Those are all the same things I heard when I was in Great Britain. I love it! Good idea and steering clear (pun intended) of the driving situation. No need, and sounds like public transport is pretty good. I'm so proud of you! Keep up the hard work and soon you'll find you don't want to leave!
25th March 2008

Wow, no way i could remember all those new terms! That is the part that would throw me off the most! You'll come back home using them probably!

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb