Heading North


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
May 19th 2009
Published: May 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

P5140183P5140183P5140183

Train from Greymouth to Christchurch
My first good views of New Zealand came on the train that took me across the South Island from Christchurch to Greymouth. I spent an hour in Greymouth, then jumped on the same train for the return trip back to Christchurch. Each way the journey took about 4 hours, and was a pretty easy way to see some of the country. The train started across the plains and then made its way up and through the mountains as we made our way to the west coast. At one stop in the mountains, their was a hint of snow blowing around mixed with rain. The temperature was about 5 degrees and I was one of the very few people who were unphased by the "cold" weather. I talked to many people ( a lot from Australia) who could not imagine the weather being much colder. Most of the day consisted of rainy weather, but there was still plenty to see from the mountains to rolling hillsides and uncountable numbers of sheep.

As an interesting side story, the two ladies sitting across from me on the train were from Australia. As I talked to them I found out that the one lady
P5160200P5160200P5160200

Wellington Harbour
has been to Fort McMurray. Before she could finish telling me that she was there last winter, I asked why in the world she would EVER go there. She told me that it was part of a Northern Lights tour. She spent 3 nights in Fort Mac in February as part of a guided tour to hopefully see the northern lights. I never imagined that Fort Mac was being sold as a tourist destination, but apparently it is. Luckily enough she said that they saw the Northern Lights, and that it was all worth it, even though the minus 30 weather was well beyond what she would ever want to experience again.

The next day I jumped on another train in Christchurch to head north to Picton where I caught the ferry across to Wellington on the north island. My stop in Wellington was only for two quick nights, but I did go to the National Museum of New Zealand and spent the day learning about the country and it's history.

Yesterday I made my way by bus north to Lake Taupo which is New Zealands largest lake. The town is somewhat a resort town, but with it
P5180212P5180212P5180212

Waikato River
being the start of winter here, there is not overly much going on. There are many good hiking paths and trails, some of which I checked out today. The weather is still quite cloudy with rain on and off everyday, but I have managed to stay mostly dry and see some cool things. I went to an area where a river is squeezed from 100 meters wide and 4 meters deep to 15 meters wide and 10 meters deep in an effort to use the river for hydroelectricity. It is apparently working because the river I was at today produces 25% of all the electricity in New Zealand. Tomorrow, if the weather is willing I will go to check out one of the river dams and some geothermal mud pools. So hopefully it doesn't get to cold and rainy...Enjoy your snow at home...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

P5180219P5180219
P5180219

Huka Falls


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023kb