On the menu this evening...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
March 11th 2009
Published: March 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The Palermo PieThe Palermo PieThe Palermo Pie

I hope my grandmom and dad are proud. Thanks, Jules!
PALERMO PIE (hiya, Lochie) ... While supporting my lifestyle, washing dishes in one of Picton's finest restaurants, The Slip Inn, Julie, the newly appointed worldly head chef from California, and I were having light conversation regarding favorite foods we miss having from back home. A top of the lister for me was pizza, specifically, a white pizza with garlic and spinach, mmmmm... my favorite. Julie's response, "God! that sounds good."

Julie was in the process of changing the menu and one of the establishment's specialities was pizza, of which, one can not get for miles around except for here. During an employee / going away party, in an intoxicated repeat conversation, Julie tells me she's adding that pizza to the menu and going to name it after me calling it, The Palermo. Now with any drunkin conversation, I hold no one to their word, although to paraphrase the poet, Charles Bukowski, "People need to follow through on more drunkin promises."

And so after sauntering about the South Island for three weeks, I returned, once more to my transient home of Picton, the gateway back to the North Island and was greeted by 'chef' holding out the new menu and
Fellow EmployeesFellow EmployeesFellow Employees

James, Julie's husband, and Brad or rather, Be-Rad, as he liked to call himself -- the 12yo kitchen guru... yes, I was trained by a twelve year old.
on it, much to my surprise, was The Palermo Pie.

A top seller which has gained rapid notoriety, so they say. I, myself, have eaten 'out' only four times since I've been in NZ, and two of those times were consuming the Palermo.

Indeed, if you ever find yourself traveling through Picton, NZ, and are hungry for a delicious meal, I suggest you stop by The Slip Inn Restaurant which over looks the sounds, take a seat outside, order a glass of wine, a Palermo Pie, and send Julie and everyone else there my regards. 😉



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

and Henry, the 17yo madcap of an assistant chef,and Henry, the 17yo madcap of an assistant chef,
and Henry, the 17yo madcap of an assistant chef,

and of course, the ever so impressive, Julie.


11th March 2009

Pizza looks delicious but I think you are missing the wasabi.
12th March 2009

what's for dinner? ...Palermo.
Not to be confused with the "Tony Palermo Special" consisting of dark chocolate chunks drizzled onto roast beef rolls and thrown into a cereal....it's a breakfast meal.
12th March 2009

Congrats
Good job brother Ray with the "Palermo Pie"!
15th March 2009

MADCAP???
Henry's got nothin' on you my brother. Keep on chooglin.

Tot: 0.37s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 97; dbt: 0.0994s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb