Funny Hangover Day


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo
January 19th 2008
Published: January 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Buying my new shoesBuying my new shoesBuying my new shoes

Looking good with just the one!
Today must have been the funniest hangover in the world - which always helps when your feeling ill!

It appears I may have drunk a little more rum than I thought as I wake with my make-up smudged all over my face and a taste in my mouth like i had been licking the carpet all night.

Diane is feeling pretty much the same, so we decide that junk food is in order and after dressing (no energy for showers but we did brush our teeth) we headed straight for good old Macdonalds.

On the way I trip up over a kirb and my trusty flip flops that I have worn everyday and night for the past 2 months travelling (they're black so they go with everything!) breaks - oh no!

So once Di has recovered from a fit of giggles I hobble (one shoe on, one broken shoe in my hand) to the nearest Shoe Store. It never occurs to me to take the other shoe off (think I look good with just the one) and after finding a bargain of 2 for the price of 1 sandals, I sadly say goodbye to my old ones
All alone . . .All alone . . .All alone . . .

Poor flop is being replaced
(we had some good times) and recommence our journey to MacD's.

After stuffing our faces we decide we cannot waste the day so after a wander around Lake Taupo we decide to go and have a look at Huka Falls (di has to drive as I think I'm still drunk).

We arrive at the car park and a short walk we see a bridge looking over some fast moving water. As we have been told that Huka Falls is a waterfall, we decide there must be more to it and after seeing a sign saying 'Scenic Huka Walk' we both think that must be it and do the 50 minute walk to get to the end and discover that the waterfall was actually 5 minutes in the other direction from where we had just been!

So after walking all the way back (well, Diane was actually running as she really needed the toilets at this point) we finally found the Huka falls.

After a few photo's, we decided to go to the Craters of the Moon - basically a big geothermal park here in taupo where there are open craters and you can see steam and
R.I.PR.I.PR.I.P

Bye bye flip and flop, you have been faithful but it's time to move on
more boiling mud - yip hee!

After this we were feeling pretty tired (the alcohol had definatley worn off now) so it was back to the hostel for an early night.

We have booked to do the most popular one day trek tomorrow across the Tongariro Park, apparently this is where they filmed Mount Doom in Lord Of The Rings (although I have never seen it so wouldn't know what is looked like!)

It's a 7 hour trek across the mountains and we are getting collected at 5.40am in the morning - no drinking for us tonight then!




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

There it is!There it is!
There it is!

We've only walked 50 minutes in the wrong direction
More bubbling mudMore bubbling mud
More bubbling mud

Yeah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My favourite.


Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0792s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb