Forgotten Highway and a second Passport!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taranaki
February 18th 2008
Published: February 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

New Zealand 2008


(I am going to write about this and try to upload the other things I have written earlier and saved to my memory stick at a later date - bear with me!!)

Yesterday I set off from the eco inn for the forgotten highway to Taupo. It is an incredible drive - one of the earliest tracks that the early settlers built. In fact the brilliant engineer who built most of it is buried part way along the road - he died of peritonitis at the early age of 35, his wife died some thing like 40 years later and had her ashes scattered on his grave. Its a lovely story - apart from the early dying of course!!

The drive is through areas of 'humpy' scenery rather like the dales in Derbyshire, which go on for hundred of Km, together with valleys which are so lush with vegetation. Amazing and beautiful! There are few small towns - and I mean small, and homesteads which are scattered along the track and off on side roads. But my goodness it is isolated - I read in a local rag that the families tend to shop twice a year - so no running out of sugar or tea then!! (What happens if a mouse gets into the stores??!!)

Back to serious matters - the road has four saddlebacks and at the first one I just had to stop because there were three Ford Anglias parked there, with the drivers enjoying the view. In my usual shy way I made a comment about the cars and we chatted on for quite some time. Orders for staying at Whangamamani were given (I think that's how it is spelt - my book is in the car!) and luckily that was my plan, so I agreed to meet them all for a drink later. On the way I stopped off at an arboretum which had a lovely walk around the plantings, and heard an incredibly loud shout - through a hand louspeaker, it was the police! Of course I immediately assumed I had parked the car in the wrong place, but no - they were chasing someone on the road - very noisy it was - sirens and shouting all over the place. When I got back to the car - it was as if nothing had happened - so perhaps this peace is sometimes an illusion!

On to the village for the night, where you go to the hotel first to buy your passport. The village declared itself to be an independent town about 10 years ago, designed their own passports and sometimes has a chappie with a shot gun at the border control to ensure that you pay the dues!! They were great fun, insisting I should stay and produce lots of children so that the village would grow and prosper - I don't think so somehow!! The campsite was on the old school playing field and about 500 yds from the pub, so all fitted in well. I met the group after dinner and we were talking about all sorts of things then were joined by a maori gentleman who was in the pub when I arrived. He was incredible - 80 years old and had mined for about 30 years or more. Knew the nationalities of the men who were encouraged to join the miners throughout hte years - Welsh men from Llanelli and Aberfan had come over and lots of other nationalities too. He could tell us which town they were from!! He could even speak some German and French, as well as fluent English. One of the Anglia men was a teacher and asked him if he was one of the Maori elders, he is too young as yet he said!! But he is passing on all the stories to his grandchildren, so the history and maori knowledge might continue. It was a good night!! The camp site was peaceful too until the bloomin cockeral decided to wake me at 3am - not a good gesture! Ear plugs were in the car, so I crept out to get them, swore at him and went back to sleep.

I finished the drive and am now staying at a place I can't spell, so will do that tomorrow before I go on a train ride. Now to find the camp site.

Advertisement



18th February 2008

Exciting or what?
Hi Lizzie P Wow you are certainly packing a lot in! People sound interesting and particularly would have liked to meet the Maori! John Wright the NZ cricketer who played for for us some time ago said that Derbyshire was so like NZ that he could settle here. Good to hear from you. Very cold here just now so you won't be missing that!! Love John
18th February 2008

Done it again
Hi Lizzie P You may not have seen my recent messages as I may have made a horlicks of the input etc. Good to hear you packing so much into your travel. I would have liked to have met the Maori - a living book as you may say. Enjoy the train ride and I certainly hope it is better than my experience in India. Love John
18th February 2008

Derbyshire
Hi John, Both messages got through, and yse it is like Derbyshire that goes on and on. But all very brown at the mo. Off to the train and anothr Kiwi cake... losing weight not an option on this trip!!
19th February 2008

NZ
Funny to tink we were there just last year. You should be enjoying some warmerweather than us. Got to meet the sandflies yet?
19th February 2008

Bites
I have been bitten - they still like the taste of me!
20th February 2008

Hi
Sounds like you're having a great time! You manage to find some fascinating places. You should be on TV along with old Mr Palin. Look after yourself and have fun.
22nd February 2008

OLD Mr Palin
'Ere, are you saying I'm old?!!!
22nd February 2008

Prawns
No, at the moment I have some delicious prawns and I am going to cook and eat them all by myself!!
25th February 2008

Weather Matters
Hi Lizzie P Mate of mine in Wellington tells that the weather has been a bit odd for the time of the year. From heat and draught to torrential rain. Hope you have dodged the extremes and that all is well. Love John
27th February 2008

Weather
Yes, lots of rsin in Rotorua, but am now in Melbourne, th sun is shining and the agpipes are playing..... yes!!
27th February 2008

Melbourne
It seems that Melbourne is a very cosmopolitan city. Huge Greek community apparently!! Good to hear from you Love John
28th February 2008

Cosmopolitan
Yes, lots of different nationalities here, very exciting city! Might even get to the cricket ground....
29th February 2008

MCG
Hi Lizzie P. Sounds good, some Greek food would be nice. MCG apparently is quite spectacular. Cricket not going well in Dunedin, you need to get down there and sort it. Dan Redfern (still only 17) did better than most in U19 World Cup in Malaysia but England made early exit. Surprised?? Love, John
2nd March 2008

MCG
Might do it in the next couple of days!!

Tot: 0.274s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0703s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb