Swim Team X2


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Rotorua
March 15th 2006
Published: March 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So today I paddled the Kaituna River in a Salto. Lets see what to say about th eriver its considered a III-IV run but is definitely harder than the Ocoee. Its a very short run, it took us only about an hour even with my screwing up. The drop pool. But big and fast water... not really any eddies to scout from either. There are a couple of bad weirs and holes that are not so great to get into... I didn't find any. The biggest rapid is a water fall -- Okere Falls. Its a 2.5meter fall, not bad.
And pretty easy to run... especially in a creek boat.
Most people take playboats down this river. I selected a Salto to see how I liked it for taking to the south island and the much more techincal creek run of Wairoa on Sunday.
Well after todays paddle not so sure I'm going to be on the Wairoa. Not exactly one with my boat. Oh yeah, if you screw up a rapid you often find yourself pushed up against the rock wall. Not scary against the rock wall but annoying... like I can't roll up against you ... damn it. And that was my first swim.... ugghhh.

2nd swim came when I went back up and was playing around the gates trying to get to be one with the boat again.
Well a lackadasical ferry move and upside down, shoved against a different rock wall.... and swim #2.

Not a steller day for me. I'll be back out there tomorrow. It looks like my next few days will be spent just paddling here and trying to get some skill and confidence back, and comfort in the Salto I think.
Why the Salto because its on loan and free. Don't think I'm buying a boat anymore. After here I'll head to the S. Island and see what I find.

Oh yeah, you might want to know about the van... its working now.
Cost me almost $200NZD. $112 for the tow and labor, and $75 for the part.
The starter burned up.

And the worst part is its my fault.
My van has 2 keys. 1 for the door and 1 for the ignition. Well aparently you can start the car with the door key, but if you do it doesn't disengage the starter. So Walla!!!!!!

So now I know, and I but duct tape on the the door key so I can more easily see the difference.

Ok that is all. The next few days don't expect anything exciting. I'm just kayaking.

Oh yeah the river is beautiful. Might get onto some other rivers or sections at some time, really just trying to get the skills up to go Heli-kayaking on the S. Island.


Advertisement



15th March 2006

Separate thoughts (backwards order from your post): 1. Send pics 2. Sorry about the van... Doh!! 3. Confess Your Swims! Hehehe....how is that again, we're all between swims? Yeah, that's it...

Tot: 0.238s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 77; dbt: 0.1285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb