Warm beds.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Rotorua
February 22nd 2008
Published: February 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

BikeBikeBike

I think I have one of these at home!!
It has rained a lot since I arrived at Rotorua, I even had to pitch my tent between showers last night. However, here at Cosy Cottage they have tent sites which are heated by the thermal water from the area. The tent was warm, I could geel theheaet through the mattress and sleeping bags - it was bliss!

The prawns were delicious too and now I have a funky little cool box to go wit hme on my travels. For the first time I have met up with some British people who do not want to look other people in the eye. It's like being back at home where people don't say good morning. Silly, they miss lots of interesting conversations...

As it is wet, I am off to walk around the town's museum and look up some plants in the library. Will try to take my camera into the internet cafe and see if the site will accept any photographs. I am trying!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

WaterfallWaterfall
Waterfall

Sorry folks, it was called the Huka Falls - pronounced Hooker, still slightly along the right vein though!!
Thermal PoolThermal Pool
Thermal Pool

These are quite incredible - smelly and noisy!


22nd February 2008

Photos
Why don't you just sign up for an Imageshack or Photobucket account? Just spoken to our "Kiwi Dave" on Skype, so it is clear, and very possible! Hope the museum is good!
22nd February 2008

Re:Warm Beds
Yes! I would love to see what you are seeing, so photos would be great :)
23rd February 2008

Photos
Will try that perhaps - the internet cafes don't always have the most up to date computers and very few will accept any connection to other hardware - however, I have the camera, the lead and am going to try now!!
23rd February 2008

Steaming
I am so glad that you are having a great time in New Zealand. We did think it would be just your place. Rotorua seems to be always covered in rain. We have been there twice now and it rained both times. Keep us posted with the rest of your journey.
23rd February 2008

is it just me, or did you not buy a spanking new computer for your travels? Surely there is wifi somewhere? Glad you're still having fun despite the rain.
24th February 2008

Yes but,
they have all encrypted their wifi -*******!
24th February 2008

Rotorua
It has rained ever since I drove near the place - dismal!!! However, the museum was good fun and I have visited the buried village and walked around a non stinky lake! I slept in a warmed place for tents, but they didn't warn us about the ants! The bloke in the next tent to me was jumping about as much as I was at 6.30 A.M.!!
24th February 2008

Photos
Have tried my best - but think I may be able to catch up in Melbourne or even tomorrow at Cambridge.
11th March 2008

I think I have messed it up
Hi Lizzie P Not been getting your blogs so I suspect that I have pressed wrong buttons on my computer. Silly old fool!! Now picked later blogs up through an early one. You picked the best day for the cricket and the best day to head for the desert road. Seen it on internet and it looks terrific. Are you going to Wellington at all? Love John
11th March 2008

Wellington
I bypassed Wellington and am now down in the South Island. It is so lovely I willnot be going back for hte cricket - if they had won the match I might be considering it!!
22nd March 2008

water rollups
Hi Lizzie, i bet you had trouble with your rollups on your water bed?, liz and i are on top level, as its too cold to get on the floor, i hope your thinking about us stretching and groaning.have a great time.
24th March 2008

Pilates
I think of Pilates everytime I sleep in my tent - the relaxing lying on my back just about makes things good for sleeping. The best time was when the tent was pitched on a warmed sited in Rotorua!! I'll be back when it is warm!! LOL

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb