I was a Maori chief. fact.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Rotorua
February 21st 2007
Published: February 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Up at 6.30 the next morning to catch Kiwi bus down to Mercury bay, where we stopped at a beach called hot water beach, where we could dig holes in the sand and boiling water would bubble through to create little hot pools which was nice. Lots of geothermal things round here apparently. Don't really know how or way but hey ho.

From there went to Cathedral Cove, which was one of the nicest beaches I've been to- really clear water and cool rocks all over the place. Went jumping off one of them. I like jumping off things these days.

Stayed the night in mercury bay, and had a beer and some food in the hostel, where someone got a bongo drum and a guitar out, so I unfortunately had to leave. Went to pub with quite a big group and played charades for some reason... Not the earliest night, so getting up at 7 wasn't that much fun. Drove to a little place for breakfast and to get a picnic lunch (Subway for both which was a result as we spotted it and noone else did), and headed up to a former gold mining place where we went white water personing (a bit like rafting but spontaneous and quite painful) and took a lot of photos.

Back in the coach and down to Rotorua, for a go in a thermal bath thing. Bored with writing so will tell about my maori night tomorrow...

So, arrived in Rotorua (smells of rotten eggs because its a geothermally active place, so has lots of sulphur)

We had the afternoon (We being myself hugo alex and charlie) to not do very much, because we weren't going white water rafting), so it was laundry time. They may well read this at some point in the future, but I'm sure they won't mind me mentioning that they weren't exactly au fait with the old laundry doing, as I wouldn't have really been at 18, but i still found it quite funny.

This took most of the afternoon, but left enough time to hit our smelly sulphur pool in the hostel, have a nice shower and get ready for our Taniki (or something) Maori experience.

Bus picked us up early evening, and our guide asked us to choose a chief from the bus (there were another 5 buses coming too) by listing the qualities that a Maori chief should have. Namely

Pride
Courage
Well sculpted guns
Knowledge
Power
Chiselled abs
Tanned
Dancing prowess
Humility
Grace

and loads of other stuff.

Once I was unanimously and swiftly elected, I lead the tribe off the bus to the village place. We (chiefs) had to stand very still and not laugh or move or turn whilst the Maori warriors came out to do the (pretty intimidating) challenge to see if we came in peace or not. One of the chiefs accepted a peace token and then we were allowed in and a woman sang a song about some stuff.

Had a look round village (was cool) then realised I should have been being chiefly again and leading the group into the theatre thing (meeting house) where we saw some traditional dances (hakas and pois again), as well as a Maori fittie. The chiefs got to sit in the front row. I even let people look at me on their way past. We then lead everyone to the dining room for a 'hangi' (Hangi is actually underground oven that the Maori used to cook pretty much everything on hot rocks) where I ate so much that I had to go outside for a lie down as I was sweating such a lot from the effort of getting essentially three full meals down me. Food was pretty special. And unlimited. After that the chiefs had a little necklace thing presented, and everyone cheered me (and the others a bit).

Went home, the boys went out, I sneaked off to bed at 11. I'm old.

Next morning they were off white water sledging, so I went into town to get food and phone home like a dutiful son, before heading to the Polynesian spa on the edge of Rotorua lake to read my book. Was pretty nice- spent quite a while in the hot pools there taking in the view, before heading back to the hostel for a shower (I smelt of fart from the sulphur in the pools) and went for a wander around the geothermal park across from the hostel, which had huge mud pools lined with yellow and white, and big clouds of smoke coming from them, which was cool. Photos on facebook, including I like to think the most artistic photo ever.

That night we headed to the Lava bar, where the boys embarked on a big one- got in around 4am, by which time I'd been asleep for about 5 hours. Score.

Next morning involved getting back on the bus and heading south towards a place called Waitomo.

Advertisement



26th February 2007

I could be a Maori chief too!
Having seen the size and stomach on the big man you were confronting, I guess I could be a match for him any day!Bring it on!!Or, better still, bring one home!!!
27th February 2007

Similar days...
Its amazing that even though we are on opposite sides of the world our days can mirror each others....I spent the day teaching the children the importance of brushing their teeth, what to do if you get nits, cleaning up 3 wee accidents and best of all freeing Millie's head out from the bottom of the toilet door where she had got stuck!!!Hillarious I found it very hard to tell her off because the tears of laughter kept stopping me!! Glad you are still having a good time...I too would like a Maori chief if you have any spare...loads of love Babs x x

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb