week 2!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Paraparaumu
March 15th 2010
Published: March 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post


It was the first week of our normal schedule and lecture!

I honestly do not know how to explain this week and how free I feel. I feel like I have a whole new passion for life and God that has been lit. It was the first week of lectures today and it was unbelievable. It was by Mary Turner, a kiwi, and she spoke of the ultimate authority. Being in love with my Creator makes me want to submit my whole life to Him and allow Him to be the authority over everything. I am learning how to submit every aspect of my life, including my analytical mind!

I feel like I am becoming who I was made to be and figuring out who that really is. We took a kind of personality test this week, and surprise, I found out I was the most extreme in being unstructured and people oriented…so I guess you could say that explains a lot!
I am learning how to rest in Him and not strive. It has been a large effort for me to not define myself by my struggles or sin. But God’s grace and love has been shining through and teaching me what to really define myself by. Turning to God face to face is what defined David, not his sin. It is about where we run to that determines if we are righteous.

Learning to submit to God as the number one authority because I desire Him to reign over my life has been absolutely freeing. And learning and believing that God is bigger than any circumstance or experience. We must be surrendered to the ultimate authority to be able to have right relationship with God and in turn with others. It is a fear and love of awestruck and amazement that God desires. Something that really hit me this week was how to trust God and His authority.

I feel like I have all this new information and passion, and freedom in Jesus I don’t know what to say or how to explain it!

We went sea kayaking on Friday and it was the BEST EVER!!!!! Of course… I tipped over, but I saved my camera!!! I was taking a picture and I leaned to the side too far and it completely tipped upside down but I somehow kept my one arm up above water while a kayak was on top of me…camera saved!!!! But anyway, it was absolutely beautiful! We kayaked along the coasts on the Pacific Ocean and around the islands, it was like a whole new world!!! We experienced every kind of weather, one second the water would be completely still and you could see straight through it, it was so clear and blue, then the next second there would be waves and gusts of wind, then it would be pouring rain!! But for the most part it was gorgeous sun! I think we ended up kayaking from between 20-25 kilometers. During one of our breaks we were in a bay and we played water polo with the kayaks, which was epic! My passion for adventure was re-lit and I cannot wait for more!

So… we were all put on worship teams and clearly I got put on worship team one which had lead worship at a church this Sunday, then on Monday for the base, then at our Wednesday night town meeting, what the!!!!! So naturally, I am put with a bongo and a microphone to sing, anyone that knows me remotely well knows that this is not where I belong! Nonetheless, worship went great yesterday, and I guess we will just have to see for the rest of the week! I had the opportunity to lead communion at the church and share my testimony as well.. I am absolutely speechless with all that happened through it.

So much happened this week, But all in all, God has confirmed that this is where I am supposed to be.



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

peter and billypeter and billy
peter and billy

the pic that i fell in the water for...! lame
favorite ever!favorite ever!
favorite ever!

where we played water polo with kayaks


21st March 2010

Hi Maddie! I am still laughing on the picture (in my mind) of you playing the bongo's and singing --- are you sure that you do not have a DVD of this? I am so proud of you Maddie and I am enjoying your messages on your blog. Not only is your journaling outstanding but the content is even better. I am so glad that you have been able to see your dream come true. It is obvious that God is using your gifts in a wonderful way. Maddie, we love you and are so happy for you and are praying for you. Love, Nonny and Papa P.S. It looks like you are really in the kayaking -- so glad you saved the camera!
23rd March 2010

Sounds and Looks Great
Maddie---Looks like God is working and you are having fun learning and experiencing Him. Have a great, safe and fun adventure. Love Dr Leaf

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb