Week One


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Paraparaumu
March 7th 2010
Published: March 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The base!!!The base!!!The base!!!

My bunk house
First week is done and I feel like I have lived here forever!!!! Everyone has become family and it is incredible to be apart of!!! My abs are continually sore from laughing and screaming.

We are beginning to dive more into things and begin more of a schedule, which is so exciting, and so busy! We went on one mini adventure this week to a lake and went on a long hike, which was absolutely breathtaking!

I played my first game of soccer ever in my life I think!!!! It was the most hilarious best game I have ever been apart of… people were screaming in other languages, everyone was falling over the ball no one knew what was going on, it was just great.

As a team we are involved with something called ‘Epic Kids’ and saying that it is epic may be an understatement. It is on Saturday evenings where we pick up about 40 plus kids to come play games, do crafts, and hopefully get a glimpse of Jesus’ love for them. Most the kids come from broken homes, and all but a handful come from non Christian homes. It is absolute chaos!!! But, what
DSC00399DSC00399DSC00399

view from tree house
an opportunity to give back to the community we live in and love on these kids that may not have ever experienced a relationship like that. We will be doing that on Sundays and also a youth group for older kids.

I cannot wait to see what God has in store this coming week! Orientation is done, and our first speaker comes tonight! I love it here, and I am amazed at God’s glory and creation everyday! The people here and the relationships are indescribable, we are already family! Everyday is an adventure! I love you all!!

PS DAD- I was wearing my cubs hat and a Kiwi asked me what it was and i said oh, the chicago cubs! and she asked me if i played for them... clearly i said yes.



Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

DSC00416DSC00416
DSC00416

thank you john-paul!


8th March 2010

Hey Maddie
I love keeping up with you on your blog - love the pictures - love you!! Sounds like you are having an awesome time. Praying for you and thinking of you!! Blessings! I think you could probably play for the Flubs (I mean Cubs).
12th March 2010

maddmaddie02
Mads- your lookin real cute and crazy in those pics! I love it! miss you so much hope your having an amazing adventure. I think about you all the time. love you so much!

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb