The countdown is on


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Palmerston North
August 11th 2007
Published: August 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

PackingPackingPacking

23kg! can I do it?! what about all my beloved clothes!?!
Ok so ive been counting down about for about 9 months now. And the day ive been anticipating is nearly here.
The 29th Of August im off to Italy!
I know for most experienced travellers this may not be a big deal, but for a 17year old Kiwi girl stuck in New Zealand down the bottom of the world, its a HUGE deal!

I've always known that travelling is in my blood. Its the Wild genes that I've inherited, and thats whats influenced my utter fascination of other cultures.
My Grandad was a pilot, and he would always share many amazing stories and experiences of his globe trotting adventures.
My Dad has travelled the world many times. Lived in England, lived in Australia, and bascially been all around the world on a shoe-string budget, thats what I want to do, or should I say thats what im DESTINED to do.
There's things in life that you know you HAVE to do. Well one of my things is to travel the world, and im going to make it happen.
Starting with an exchange year in Italy.
(with my lovely association STS(big plug))

And so at the present moment I am
You know im organisedYou know im organisedYou know im organised

Therefore im weighing every single item. Those scales are my new best friend
packing and preparing.
Im allowed two bags of 23kg each, which for exchange students is a blessing because most only allowed one of 20kg. But because my mum said that it would be too difficult to lug around two suitcases, shes only allowing me to take one suitcase.
Which means.. I cant take most of my much-adored clothes!
However will I survive!?
Oh well I guess I will just have to do lots of Italiano shopping to compensate.

Im ready to fully immerse myself into their beautiful culture. Ive been doing soo much study. It dominates most of my spare time. Which admitedly, I love.
I can speak a bit of Italian because ive been teaching myself for the past 7 months. Realisticaly though I know that it wont stand up to one day in Italy and I know thats going to be extremely tough, trust me im well aware of that side of the coin as well.
But in terms of being an exchange student I think im about as ready as I ever will be.
And so I'm about to imbark on the biggest adventure of my life.

La Bella Vita... Here I come!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Goodbye Palmy!Goodbye Palmy!
Goodbye Palmy!

Yes I love Palmy, but I also LOVE change
Kiwi Souveneirs.. CHECKKiwi Souveneirs.. CHECK
Kiwi Souveneirs.. CHECK

Apparently foreigners go crazy for those things..


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb