New Adventure-Same Places....


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Northland » Kaitaia
January 28th 2011
Published: January 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

StringStringString

Ready to Go!!
The Container with 7 motos is on it's way to Valparaiso, for our our next South American Moto Adventure.

This year will be a little different, especially for me, as I will be driving the Chase Truck, so I will have to re adjust my thinking and have some patience when it comes to the traffic and not having the freedom of the moto!!.

The other big challenge for me is the fact that Gerardo is not able to be with us on this adventure, due to work and personal pressure. He may be able to join us in the beginning for a few days and also at the end, but we will have to see what unfolds here.

To help with day to day logistics, we will have String riding the blue lowered KLR that Scott had last year.
String came with us to the High Andes in 2008, so he sorta knows the way and the KLR was just there last year, so with his maps and GPS he will become our intrepid leader, following up with Bill Kamps from Padre Island, USA, who will be my navigator and riding 'Shot Gun' with me in the
BillBillBill

Not sure about the shirt?
chase truck, we sota have a plan.....
Bill was my room mate on my first moto excursion into South America in 2005. We mat up again last year while I was riding the Trans America Trail. He has done a lot of adventure riding around the world, with Hegi Peterson, and his Globe Riders, but not to NZ yet!!

Gerardo has been busy booking all our hotels for the adventure, which is no mean feat, dealing with Argentina, and Bolivia, let alone Chile. We are hoping that he can join at least for a few days.

Joining this leader and his helpers will be:

Robin and Diane Goldsack, from Tauranga, riding a BMW 800GS.
Wim Booiman, from Omarama, also on a BMW 800GS.
Paul Wightman, from Rotorua, riding his BMW 1200 Adventure.
Barry (Baz) and Jan are from Whangarei and will be on a KTM 990 Adventure.
Alan Lang, also from Whangarei will join us on his KTM 990 Adventure.
Hans Applegren from Emu Plains in NSW will also join us on his brand new 660 Husqvarna.

So we have 3 x BMW's, 2 X KTM's, one Husky and one lonely KLR. Along with a great bunch of riders and pillions.
Jan is booked to hike the Inca Trail while we are in Cusco for 4 days, go girl....

We now only have less than 5 weeks to tidy up the last of the paperwork, get everything sorted around home for while we are away and get packed....Let the Adventure Begin!



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

All DoneAll Done
All Done

Robin, Paul, Baz and Wim
Final CheckFinal Check
Final Check

Wim and Robin make final check on contents.
Signed and SealedSigned and Sealed
Signed and Sealed

Next stop Valparaiso


29th January 2011

Good to c u have Sth Islander onboardd
Hi Rosco Great - another adventure for us to follow from our comfortable armchairs! All the very best to you and your team. Nice to see you have a South Islander in the side to represent us mainlanders - go Win. be safe. be happy. Cheers Su & Dick Anderson Dunedin
29th January 2011

Lonely KLR
String, my weapon of choice is a "lonely" KLR. I's the only bike I can pick up when it falls over. And it does that a lot. I just say the moto is resting. Bill
11th February 2011

Love reading your blogs
Hi Rosco I love reading your Blogs and I wish I could join you on your travels, but after talking to my kidney transplant doctors about going to South America. They say that it's not possible because of the Yellow Fever injection that is needed to visit this area. I can not have is injection because it would damage my transplant. :( So keep up the Blogs and the photos and if you ever come to Australia let me know. I'd LOVE to do or organize a ride up the Centre to Alice Springs, Kakadu, Cape York or somewhere. (there's some great road in Victoria too) Cheers, Phillip Rosenow
12th February 2011

No Yellow Fever Jab nessessary
Hi Phillip, good to hear from you. I hate jabs of any sort, so we don't actually go to places of Yellow Fever etc. Maybe I will have to take you up on your riding Australia offer some time. Good to hear that your transplant is all good. Cheers, Rosco
10th March 2011

Ride safe
Hi Rosco Thanks for the Blog , Ride safe and take care of Bill you know what he's like . Get on to Bill and Curtis to come to NZ and ie'll join them My friend at work said he dropped in and met you Xmas time and has shown me some pice . Hope we can meet up agis some time. Vipah Vicar ' If you not living on the edge your taking up to much room'

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb