Woodville


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Manawatu
July 12th 2021
Published: July 12th 2021
Edit Blog Post

At the intersection of State Highways 2 and 3 you will find Woodville. It is a great place for to stop and take a break as you will probably be on your way to somewhere completely different, passing through Palmerston North in one direction or the other.

I love Woodville as my ancestors were some of the early settlers in the Seventy Mile Bush, which extended along the eastern side of the Tararua and Ruahine Ranges, and many of them are buried in the Old Gorge Cemetery at Woodville. It is a place that feels like home.

For a small town of around just 450 households, there is a great number of cafés, bakeries, bookshops, galleries, museums, gift shops and antique stores for you to explore. If you like Op Shopping, you need to check out the Salvation Army store as they have a fantastic range of items, all very reasonably priced. I have never managed to get out of there without an item or two (okay, an item or six!). The majority of their customers are passing through, often in campervans, who have run out of clean clothes or have brought the wrong type with them. The store usually has some lovely items that dealers are looking for and the staff make sure they price these reasonably so dealers can make a small profit on them.

You should also check out The Viking's Haul second-hand shop. https://www.facebook.com/TheVikingsHaul/ I admit I have never purchased anything there but it is worth a look as they have a huge amount of stock.

Take time to stroll along the main street as you will be surprised at the variety of shops. I try to visit just twice a year as my budget doesn't allow for all the clothes I fall in love with in one or two of them!

If you have kids, visit Fountaine Square Park, opposite The Viking's Haul. https://enroute.nz/listing/fountaine-square-park/ This park has clean public toilets, a great playground for the kids plus a rotunda and a war memorial (with my great-great uncle's name on it). I have to admit that the signs at the park confuse me. There are signs CLEARLY stating dogs are not allowed. However, 10m up the road you will find a bin for doggy poo. And the website I added states it is a pet friendly park. I decided that if I entered from a different street I couldn't see the 'no dogs' signs so couldn't get in trouble for walking mine through the park.

Another part of Woodville which confuses me is the Pioneer Museum. I remember going through it many decades ago but have never been able to find it open ever again, regardless of the hours I have seem them say they are open. I contacted them for help with my family tree research and the reply I got was extremely unfriendly and unhelpful so I have given up on it altogether.

Woodville is definitely a place worth stopping in. You can take a break, do some retail therapy, let the kids use up some energy, walk the dog and feed everyone. And the best part? The locals are lovely and welcoming.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb