Welcome Back


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Coromandel » Whitianga
November 22nd 2005
Published: November 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Whitianga

on the Coromandel Peninsula

Tide PoolTide PoolTide Pool

A rest stop on the Pacific Coast Highway near Coromandel... don't you wish they made rest stops like these back in the US?
Hello all

I'm back safe and sound in NZ after a week at home back in the States, in New Jersey. My grandfather did pass away so I consider myself very lucky that I was able to go back and be with my family for his last moments. As always, being with my family is a bit intense (especially with so many of us) but it was all in love. I found out quite a bit about the strength of my family and it gave me that much strength to come back quickly.

Cait picked me up from the airport and we got back into the swing of things right away. We jet off straight from the airport for Whitianga, a small town on the Coromandel Peninsula. Since it is up north, it is one of the warmest and nicest parts of NZ. Many Kiwis vacation here for Christmas, so we're lucky to be here before the rush. Right now I'm at the On the Beach Backpacker Lodge. It's located right on the beach, and have free ocean kayaks!

To my delight, one morning I was eating breakfast and enjoying my tea and the lovely view of Buffalo
It's Raining!It's Raining!It's Raining!

A little safe haven for the backpackers down at Cathedral Cove.
Beach. I suddenly spotted a small group of fins cutting across the water. There was a pod of dolphins playing about in the water! I watched them until they dissapeared out of view, threw down my cereal spoon, ran across the street and jumped into a kayak!

I tried to chase after them, but they were long gone by the time I got out of the bay. However, I did get adecent ocean paddle off lovely Buffalo Beach into Lonely Bay and around Shakespeare Cliffs. The last of these were white sandstone cliffs and had VERY large tree trunks precariously clinging to them for dear life.

Cait and I got to do some hiking as well here. We went on a short tramp to Cathedral Cove with some beautiful shady fern gullys, ocean caves, arches and sandy white beaches. Cait is very into strange birds right now, having stayed with a family on a farm in my absence. The birds in NZ are amazing creatures because until humans and other mammals invaded this remote island, birds were the top of the food chain. This is why many of them are so large or can't fly (ie kiwis). As
Bay - LeftBay - LeftBay - Left

The trailhead to Cathedral Cove near the carpark had a great view with a split personality. When you turned left, you saw this.
a result, you get some really funny birds with amazing looks and sounds. Google the bird "pukeko" 😊

There are more pictures on the way... but I'm going to wait until we've finished the Tongariro Crossing to post them. Wish us luck! It's 17 km with possible summits of Mt Tongariro (the same peak that served as volcano Oroduin in the movie, Lord of the Rings. The national park also served as the set for Mordor). Besides this allure, it is widely known as the best one day hike in NZ! I'm excited but anxious as it's been a while since I've been in hiking shape. Yeep.

love
meesh


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Bay - RightBay - Right
Bay - Right

...and you turn right to see this.
Sentinal RockSentinal Rock
Sentinal Rock

We're getting quite artsy
Sentinal Rock 2Sentinal Rock 2
Sentinal Rock 2

That's Cait on the left
Somewhere...Somewhere...
Somewhere...

Can't take credit for this one, Cait spotted this and nearly jumped out the window for the shot. Strong work.
Hot Water BeachHot Water Beach
Hot Water Beach

Near Whitianga, we're at the Hot Water Beach. Because it's on a thermal plateau, you can dig holes in the sand and they will be hot! Then when the waves come in, voila! Instant hot tub.


Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 64; dbt: 0.1004s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb