A Canadian in New Zealand - Day 18- Bay of Plenty, Mount Maunganui, Moturno Island


Advertisement
Published: April 17th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Today I explored part of the Bay of Plenty driving to the town of Mount Maunganui. A tourist resort town, it is filled with cafes, restaurants and such establishments. Once there, and after a coffee (long black with pourable cream), I climbed Te Mangua or The Mountain; specifically Mount Maunganui. This is a must activity in the area and very popular. First though I explored the main beach at Mount Maunganui, picked up some more shells, then hiked 15 minutes to the end of Moturno Island, a small island just off the beach. Te Maunga (Mount Maunganui) itself is only 232 metres high. The walk up, however, is quite challenging and described as strenuous in parts. It takes approximately 45 min one-way to the summit. This day it was raining so unfortunately the views from the summit were restricted due to poor visibility. Since I had only one day to climb it, this was it, rain or shine. On a clear day I can only imagine the views of the area below. It was a tiring day so will relax tonight as my legs will tighten up I am sure. Another must-do crossed off my list.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Sheep everywhereSheep everywhere
Sheep everywhere

They must just have been sheared


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb