Slow-cooking = more savory!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Islands » Paihia
March 10th 2007
Published: March 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

March 10th


Good PeopleGood PeopleGood People

This is the family that was headed out into the bay for some fun with the horses
After a lengthy and intense first day (I only slept so many hours on the plane), I decided to slow things down a bit. I didn't cover too mcuh ground today, but I made up for it by shooting just as many pictures. And if you can't tell by now, photography is one of the things I enjoy most about my travels.

In the morning, I set out to hike the Matapouri Bay after I'd heard that the views were quite nice. As I was trying to find my way to the trailhead, I encountered this family. They were preparing themselves and their horses to head out into the waters of the bay, where the children were going to be pulled around the water by holding on the tails of the horses. Very nice people.

After a few pics along the hike, I drove to a small, very quaint town called Russell. It was once known as the "hell hole of the Pacific" because of it's early status as a town where whalers and sailors could whatever sort of entertainment they were looking for. Now, it's very different. Real estate in this town is very expensive, even by American
Hold on tightHold on tightHold on tight

Looks like fun...when I was 6. :)
standards, with houses reaching into the millions of dollars. For those millions, you're most assuredly getting an ocean view, easy access to a nice harbor, and a nice small town atmosphere. Buyers anyone?

Today, I only made it as far as Paihia, which is on the Bay of Islands. It's very close to the Waitangi Treaty Grounds, which is where the British signed a peace treaty with the native people of New Zealand, the Maori. A bit more on that in my next entry.

That's all for now...I'll let the pictures do the rest of the talking.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Take only pictures...Take only pictures...
Take only pictures...

...leave only footprints. Or not.
The hills are aliveThe hills are alive
The hills are alive

Most plots of land are also cow pastures in the part of the country...and their paths give the hills a topographical map sort of feel.
More CoastlineMore Coastline
More Coastline

There are rocky crags and private beaches around nearly every bend in the road
Bowling for pointsBowling for points
Bowling for points

Check out this hard-hitting, high-powered action...or not.
RussellRussell
Russell

Looking down on the town of Russell
My future home...My future home...
My future home...

...could likely be found in this photo.


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb