More Northland


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Northland
March 11th 2007
Published: March 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

March 11th


Maori War CanoeMaori War CanoeMaori War Canoe

Anywhere from 80 to 150 people can fit in this ceremonial canoe and it's only used for special events
I visited the Waitangi Treaty Grounds today, which is where the native Maori people signed a treaty with the government of New Zealand statin that they were to be subjects of the British crown, the same as all New Zealanders. This meant not only fair treatment under the law, but also equal taxation, etc. The traditional Maori found here carvings are really something to see, some of which I’ve captured here.

I stopped along the drive to see the world’s second largest type of tree: the Kauri. There’s a forest along the western coast of the Northland that’s home to thousands of them. They’re distinguished by their very wide trunks that are bare of branches, all of which are only found very high up. The Kauri that I had a chance to see were amongst the largest trees in existence, the oldest of which sprang from its seed sometime during the lifetime of Christ. The pictures included here simply do not do them justice.

Along the trail between the Kauri trees of note, I met a little boy and his mother who were roadtripping up from the south island of New Zealand. He was quite social; he struck up
Maori Meeting HouseMaori Meeting HouseMaori Meeting House

This building was also built on the Waitangi Treaty Ground for the 100 year anniversary of signing of the treaty
conversation right away with questions like, “Did you know I can run faster than my mom?” and “Can I use your camera now?” I snapped a picture of him as he went out of his way to demonstrate just how big he thought the tree behind him was. As I was starting my walk back along the mile-long trail to the car, he took me by the hand and I was then obligated to walk with him and his mother all the way back. The hike was over in an instant. Priceless.

I failed to mention: I met another nice couple from Auckland last night. They’ve invited me to give them a call once I get to Auckland for a drink. I asked about all the “For Sale” signs I’d seen throughout the countryside (even more, it seems, than can be found in my neighborhood in southern California), and he said that real estate is pretty hot down here at the moment. All the talk about capital gains and speculation had me reminiscing about a period of time not so long before I bought my house…*sigh*.

Anyhow, one more night in the Northland before retreating to the safe
My what a long tongue you have!My what a long tongue you have!My what a long tongue you have!

More beautiful and very intricate Maori carvings
and comfortable confines of the Auckland Hilton.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

I missed Mass on Sunday...I missed Mass on Sunday...
I missed Mass on Sunday...

...and I happened on this small Catholic Church where I stopped in for a few prayers and some solitude
The oldest Kauri treeThe oldest Kauri tree
The oldest Kauri tree

Known as the Tane Mahuta, Maori for "God of the Forest"
Another large KauriAnother large Kauri
Another large Kauri

Still doesn't show just how large these trees are, but hopefully gives you some idea
My new buddy...My new buddy...
My new buddy...

...and the tree he's trying to size up


Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0772s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb