How it all began


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
August 6th 2014
Published: August 6th 2014
Edit Blog Post

This is a trial blog, I've never done one before.

My plan is to blog our trip so I don't overwhelm my Facebook wall with stories of our trip.

Since this is mainly for me I plan on including all my planning joy, as well as lots of photos and our experiences.

I am still majorly in the planning phase and I love it. I have enlisted the help of a lovely travel agent who is an expert in family travel and especially Disney. I am still trying to plan a great deal of the trip itself.

At the beginning of this year we had no plans for a trip, but then we had no plans for any of the major changes that have occurred this year. It has been a year of surprises, developments and changes so far. In late February we accidentally stumbled upon an open home, we promptly bought the house the next day, resulting in a flurry of activity to sell our other house and move five children to our new house. Luckily we have an incredibly supportive family and could stay with my parents while Steve's basically flew into helping with sorting out our old house.

It seems one major development leads to others. Shortly after we moved into our new home we received an invitation we could not ignore. A boy (I shouldn't call him a boy anymore but he still seems so young to us - boy does that sentence make me feel old!) who Steve has, cared for, mentored and generally followed for the last 14 years asked us to his wedding in Canada. Keiran has been such a big part of our lives and we are so thrilled for him. We instantly started planning to go. This planning lead to further thoughts, we have five children! Three of them are under three, could we manage this? Our practical sides lead us to realise that as much as we would like to take them the true answer is no. So what to do? Multiple discussions with our wonderful parents and we came up with a solution, we are leaving the youngest three at home with my mother in Law & Father in Law moving in and a Nanny coming daily so they can still work. My mum & Dad are also helping and between all of these options we feel ok (if not happy) about leaving them.

So with logistics sorted we move onto where, how and what will we do?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb