La Paz, Bolivia - What am I doing and why.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
August 30th 2006
Published: August 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Home Sweet HomeHome Sweet HomeHome Sweet Home

Looking across the harbour at downtown Auckland.
Through some friends of mine from church who have started working for an organisation called the Network of International Christian Schools (NICS) and are now teaching in La Paz, I have an opportunity to travel to Bolivia to spend some time volunteering for an organisation that helps, educates and motivates kids.

So where am I now?

Currently I'm a fulltime Firefighter here in Auckland, New Zealand. I used to work in IT and I have a degree along those lines, but I just didn’t find the work that fulfilling or rewarding. I joined the New Zealand Fire Service for a couple reasons. Firstly, because the job is a bit of an adventure, it can be exciting and varied and you never know what’s around the next corner and secondly, for the community minded spirit and the ability to help people everyday. These are all important aspects of my life and I’m glad they are part of my job.

Although it has given me some great experiences and a broad skill set that will serve me well wherever I go, especially the first aid side of things. Firefighting as it turns out isn't that rewarding and can actually be
Do you smell smoke?Do you smell smoke?Do you smell smoke?

But the rewards can be worth it. Team photo after a successful house burn training session. This was just before the marshmellows came out.
quite boring. I see Volunteer work as being the next level and it’s something I would like to see if I have potential in. This would be my first trip of this sort and if things go well I would like to do more.

I would say that I'm not really happy with my job/career right now. I don’t really feel like I am making a difference or contributing in a worthwhile way. The daily grind and routine work without fulfilment is my mortal enemy and that’s killing my passion for life. I want to archive something worth while and I want to really help people and most of all I just want to get out there and do it.

I love history, cultures, travelling and learning and thrive on the unknown and unexpected. I love kids and they usually love me and I would say I'm pretty good with them. Having 2 nieces and 2 nephews who love me has been pretty fun but tiring. Spending time at School camps as a helper and sometimes counsellor has also shown me that I get on with most kids of most ages.

I knew no Spanish previously
La PazLa PazLa Paz

A pretty normal La Paz view across the canyon of downtown La Paz to Mt Illimani. Mt Illimani is the tallest mountain in the region at 6457 metres, about 3 kilometres above the average La Paz street.
but I’m starting an intensive course as soon as I land In La Paz and I mean as soon as I land. My first class starts 1 hour and 10 minutes after I land. I hope this will give me enough of a foundation so that I can communicate and work effectively with the kids.

Its not confirmed yet, but I'm hoping on working with some street kids called the Shoeshine boys. They spend their days shinig shoes for a lving. They dont go to school and to make things worst their job is considered to be a disgrace so they wear balaclavas to hide their identity.

I'm just about to head off to the airport so wish me luck and I will try and keep you posted.

Peace

Adventures of a Lifetime
Access Trips offers a unique range of instructional adventure travel worldwide. Learn a new sport, develop a creative passtime, or work as a volunteer while traveling to exotic locations with Access Trips' expert instructors. Our adventure tours are open to all abilities.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

From the floor looking upFrom the floor looking up
From the floor looking up

Looking up the canyon walls from near the centre of La Paz. The further up the canyon wall the more of a ghetto you live in.
Shoeshine BoysShoeshine Boys
Shoeshine Boys

A small platoon of Shoeshine boys plying their trade and ambushing surprised tourists and locals.


30th August 2006

Bueno felicidad
Hey Raz Have a great journey and I hope that you find an infinite pool of insipration and joy over there. Peace my main man and travel safe. Paddles
31st August 2006

Told you to take some of my sleeping pills!
Your story made me laugh; long flights are no fun are they? And your taxi ride into Santiago sounds like the crazy one we all had back in Bangkok all those years ago. Glad to hear you've got a bed for a couple of nights. Have fun.

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0732s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb