Waiting in Aukland


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
August 11th 2013
Published: August 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Talk about a start for the trip. I had a call last night from Qantas at about 10pm. "Are you Philip Gates flying to Sydney on Flight QF400?" Here we go I thought. The news was that my flight had been changed and I was to go on another flight - Direct to Oakland. Do not enter Sydney do not get mucked around there. It meant getting up an hour earlier but well and truly worth it in my books. No queues at customs I got my GST back without any hassles - no fuss, no problems, no hassle!

So here I am in not so sunny Auckland waiting for three of the five to catch up. Two of us from Melbourne got diverted and two, we think, had to go through Sydney. The fifth is coming from Brisbane.

The flight was great! I had three seats to myself as did Liz.

I should introduce the names of my fellow travellers. They are Liz, obviously in NZ with me, Don and Maz from Melbourne, current whereabouts unknown. And, Garry - whereabouts also unknown but probably in the air from Brisbane.

The flight is due to leave here at about 4:15 NZ time.

One bad start is that there are no photos at the moment as the cable for the camera is in the bag I put into cargo and which is, hopefully, going into the cargo hold of the plane heading to Santiago. I know every-one wants photos. They will come.

Advertisement



11th August 2013

Photographic alternatives
Can't you take photos with your tablet?? Photos taken with a tablet camera are acceptable for airport lounge photography!!
11th August 2013

Glad to hear you had a good flight over to NZ. Called your mum and let her know the travel changes. Hope the rest of the team catch you up soon and enjoy the next leg of the journey. X
11th August 2013

the joys of travel....hope you enjoy your trip. look forward to photos
13th August 2013

BULL
Is this bull waiting for you?
13th August 2013

Bull
Don't know but I stayed out of the way.

Tot: 0.218s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1915s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb