Babysitting and BBQs


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
February 25th 2012
Published: March 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

A whistle stop tour this morning, as Janine and Dave have to be at a funeral at lunchtime. So we set off for breakfast first in Titirangi, which was unbelievably good, before heading off for a drive to Mount Albert, scene of Dad's soccer triumph, for some photos and a bit of nostalgia. We also went to the start of the Waitakere ranges, where the visitor centre gives you unbelievable views of the city. It was such a lovely morning bombing around sightseeing, that time disappeared too quickly.

While Janine and Dave were at the funeral, I picked up the hat that has been left gathering dust on the shelf at home. The hat of the babysitter! Little Joe and I played on the computer and made up brand new rules for Cranium. For those of you who have played Cranium before, who would have thought it was about parties at the worm's house or the cat's condo? The computer game on Xbox involved the two of us pretending to be characters from Sesame Street - Joe was Elmo, I was of course Cookie monster. On Kinect, I too can pretend to be a 3 year old by kneeling down, so I could flap my arms and pretend to fly with the best of them! If only you'd been flies on the wall to see it...

Janine dropped me back and I felt so sad that I'd spent so little time with her when we get on as brilliantly today as we did all those years ago. Although the time was short, it was very sweet and hopefully we'll be able to catch up again very soon.

However, it's Max's birthday party so off to Adrienne's I go (after a spot of chauffeuring from Pakuranga Golf Club)! A hilarious afternoon awaits no doubt, as we get on so well, so I'm looking forward to it.

The wine and food was flowing and for the first time in days, Auckland brought some sunshine to the party! We sat outside, laughing and chatting and it was lovely to meet so many great people. Perfect ending to a lovely few days.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.234s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb