Auckland it is...but not for long!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
June 22nd 2006
Published: June 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, I am officially living in New Zealand. I arrived in Auckland yesterday morning after two days of travel. Everything went suprisingly smooth over - three flights and my luggage made it. Way to go Qantas! I got in very early, checked in to my hostel, then headed out for an IEP (International Exchange Program) orientation. Very informative - got my bank account set up, learned about Kiwi life/lingo (it's grab a fizzy here, not soda - that word gets you strange looks) and received some employment direction. I met three other Americans there who I spent the rest of yesterday with (they kept me entertained as I was sleepwalking through the city!). We trekked Mt. Victoria (looking back, I don't know how I did it as jetlagged as I was), had some beers and walked around. Auckland is very cityish and not typical NZ at all - really not that much to see. I'm ready to head to the whop whops (back country) as they call it to see the real beauty.

After a good nights sleep and some breakfast I met a two of the three people from yesterday and moved out with them. We went back to the IEP office to talk with them about jobs. I made a huge move while there. I bought a bus ticket from Auckland to Wellington taking the scenic route. The guided bus drive should take about eight days (has eight over-night stops) and takes you off the beaten track - also a great way to meet people. My plan is cross over into the South Island after I get into Wellington and maybe try getting a job in Nelson - since it's seasonal there and employment not as abundant, I may have to keep moving to Christchurch. Oh well, it's all about the journey anyway, right?! I can rest easier now knowing I'm heading to see some of NZ's best.

Oh yea, just got a cell phone. Will forward the number to everyone. All the Kiwis have been great so far - no anti American reactions yet, although we have had several "dumb ass American" moments. Will explain later... Not sure when I'll get to the computer again so will update later...until then...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb