Journal Day 48 - Auckland


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
March 25th 2011
Published: April 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Auckland.

Getting to know the layout of the city pretty well now. Pretty small city centre and easy to orientate. Can see how you could have a really good life-style living and working here. Everything leads to the harbour and a hell of a lot of people sail. If I was here for long enough I'd probably end up getting well into boats and yachts and stuff. The city is pretty clean but the main shopping street, Queen's street is dominated by tourist shops and once you've seen them all and realised they all sell the exact same poorly carved wooden Maori sculptures the novelty wears off and they all seem a bit tacky. Plus the stuff is ridiculously overpriced, especially the jade and bone jewellery. I imagine the same things can be found cheaper and carved better in smaller towns outside Auckland. There are a lot of good, higher quality shops in between though but mostly on the streets that branch off from Queen's street.

I'd arranged to meet up with an architect who I'd been put in contact with by my uncle, whose friend had worked with a few years back.

I stumbled into the office looking like a crusty backpacker, dressed in the only type of clothes I have with me. Met Paul, one of the directors of the architects practice. Had a beer and a good conversation with him and he showed me around the office. Really friendly guy and was really helpful and informative but the practice don't have enough work currently to take me on. It turns out there was more of an impact on the construction industry here by the global recession than I had realised. But if they keep getting more work in, there's a possibility that I might get some work here. Fingers crossed anyway.
Paul invited me to join him and his kids on a trip to a thermal water park tomorrow outside Auckland which should be fun.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb