Off to Oz!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
April 11th 2011
Published: April 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I am now spending my last few days in NZ. Currently in Auckland and tomorrow off to Waiheke Island for the last few days. Trying to rearrange all my flights to shorten my stays in Oz and South Africa. Am cancelling Tasmania - not very different from NZ I understand although I am sure it is lovely. Lots of reasons for decision to come home earlier than planned - hopefully early June instead of September.

My experiences since I last blogged have been up and down. The last one was when I stayed on a remote sheep farm in Pongaroa. The crossing to Wellington was late and it was a long arduous drive to the hostel where I was booked in. Much further than I thought - very late when I arrived - I was the only guest and the landlord's house was nearly a km away. His wife was away and he had to get up early to tend the sheep. He left me there and then I found that the hostel was FULL of flies. I sprayed the room and killed about 300-400 of them - they were buzzing around and dropping everywhere! So I went to my room and that was as bad plus there were woodlice climbing up the walls and over the bed. Decided I could not stay there even though there was nothing else around for miles. Couldn't get network coverage so bundled my stuff into the car and tried to make a quick getaway. Once on the ("main") road and having gone about half a km I heard the dreaded noise - I had a puncture! So I had to limp back, climb into bed fully clothed and stayed awake all night listening to the critters until I had enough light to find my way up to the host's house to tell him of my predicament. What a night - anyway I don't have time to finish my story - my precious time on internet is up and they will soon cut me off. So I'll love you and leave you. My next blog will be from Oz so I'll tell you all about it. Don't have to check this. xxxxxx

Advertisement



12th April 2011

Nightmare on a Sheep Farm
Poor Mum, Oh the ways of the intrepid explorer are never easy. Enjoy your last few days by the beach. it will be very interesting how different Oz is! Take care of yourself - drink plenty of water in the Outback!! xx

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb