Belated photos


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
March 10th 2006
Published: March 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Doubtful SoundDoubtful SoundDoubtful Sound

so called because Captain Cook had a look at it and was doubtful he could get out of it again due to prevailing winds etc. Actually not a sound it's a fjord. Of course you all know the difference!
The bug in the site has been fixed apparently so here goes...the first few are from the waterproof camera - so cover the sea kayaking trips on Doubtful Sound, Milford Sound and Okarito Lagoon.

By the way, the car is now fixed, cleaned up and on sale. Nearly $400 that has cost me this morning and haven't sold the car yet! Apparently it is not a good time (end of summer) but now I just want to get something reasonable (?) for it, and then put the whole thing down to experience / lesson etc. It has certainly reminded me how affected I can get if I think I have made a mistake (!) or think that "it's not fair" (!!). Anyway, I won't be buying/selling cars again for a long time.

I am really looking forward to a few days on Great Barrier Island next - I head over on Sunday evening and come back next Saturday. I will be off sea kayaking with Wayne who I met when I was out there last time.




Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Sailing our sea kayaksSailing our sea kayaks
Sailing our sea kayaks

this was fun and saved our arms.
Me and Liz in our kayakMe and Liz in our kayak
Me and Liz in our kayak

A good bunch of people made the two days even better.
Milford SoundMilford Sound
Milford Sound

Kayaking here was more challenging...
Milford SoundMilford Sound
Milford Sound

ah yes, that last picture didn't have the water in it, oops.
OkaritoOkarito
Okarito

Kayaked here on my own. I got the hang of steering after some good slalom moves. Mount Cook and Tasman etc in the background.
White heronWhite heron
White heron

Only about 150 of these left. This one flew over the top of me and landed a couple of metres away - very lucky, especially as I only had the waterproof point and shoot camera.
Rest stop at OkaritoRest stop at Okarito
Rest stop at Okarito

My river / lagoon navigation needs improving.
Me at Lake WanakaMe at Lake Wanaka
Me at Lake Wanaka

stayed at a campsite right by the lake here - great setting.
Lake MathesonLake Matheson
Lake Matheson

great views & reflections near Fox Glacier on the west coast
WaterWater
Water

on the drive across to the west coast somewhere on the Haast Pass.
Fox Glacier up closeFox Glacier up close
Fox Glacier up close

walked up here on my own. Did the glacier hike on Franz Josef.
This was a tight squeezeThis was a tight squeeze
This was a tight squeeze

one of my group - not me - it was a bit of a wriggle to get through here.
Getting about on Franz JosefGetting about on Franz Josef
Getting about on Franz Josef

One of my group - Tony I think (Tony, Erica and Julia - we had a nice hot chocolate after all this!)
Looking upLooking up
Looking up

it looked like burnt meringue
KaikouraKaikoura
Kaikoura

200-300 dusky dolphins to watch and swim with
And still more...And still more...
And still more...

trying to catch them mid leap or somersault - not easy! only found the repeat shutter setting after I was back on dry land. doh!
And their bigger relationsAnd their bigger relations
And their bigger relations

2 sperm whales who have just 'blown'


10th March 2006

fantastic!
only thing I wouldn't have done would be to crawl through that narrow ice corridor!

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 17; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb