Auckland, NZ


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
October 20th 2009
Published: November 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well I arrived in Auckland last Tuesday afternoon. Fortunately, I didn't feel any jet lag. I slept most of the way to Fiji so I was pretty well rested. I met a cool gal named Laura on my connection flight from Fiji to Auckland. Shes been living in New Zealand for the past 8 so she gave me some great tips and suggestions on things to do and foods to eat. After passing Customs we caught the bus to my Hostel. I stayed at ACB Base which was right next to the Sky Tower. I stayed in a 4 Bed room and met some dudes from Sweden who were also traveling NZ for a couple months.

After settling in, I immediately went to the Sky Tower. I originally wanted to Bungee from the top but they closed that section off an hour before I got there. I did still have time to pay to walk around the Panoramic Section at the top, however. It was amazing up there. Being in the highest building in the Southern Hemisphere was a pretty cool feeling. You could see everything from up there. I think you could see 70km's (50+ miles?) each direction (I can't remember the exact fact but it's something close to that). It was a little cloudy but you could still see pretty far. I stayed up there for a good hour or two to watch the sunset. Afterward I ate my first Kebab and went to bed pretty early since I was getting picked up in the RV the next morning.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0737s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb