New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
February 4th 2006
Published: March 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

OK, the update.
I have now been to Peru, Chile, Easter Island and Tahiti and arrived safely in New Zealand...
Peru:
Huabcayo: Voluntered with an organisation called Tinkuy Peru (www.tinkuyperu.com) who also run a English school (www.andeanschool.com). While there I went to an all girls orphanage 5 days a week and taught two classes in the afternoon. It was an amazing experience and I would definatly recommend it to everyone who is interested in doing something worth while in Peru. If you are interested contact Terry and Alison (www.terryandalison.com), they are an American couple who are there for a year, so they will be happy to answer any questions about the work that goes on there.
The scenery in Peru is amazing and the altitude rubbed it in how unfit I am...
It make me realise how much I have had all my life, watching people wash cloths in the dirty rivers, only having access to water once a day, having to work so hard for so little.
After spending 2 weeks in Huancayo I set off for Macchu Picchu. The journey was about the most interesting of my life, plunging in and out of rivers, landslides, wobbling over the side of cliffs, knowing there were sheep, pigs and chickens in with the luggage! It all added up to an experience and a half. It is probably a good idea to do it at night so you can't actually see the cliffs!
After an insane time with money and missing trains and general madness I finally made it to Macchu Picchu. The appreciate the beauty of it, you have to go and see for yourself! It is breath taking!
Left Cusco and journeyed back to Lima.
I enjoyed Peru and think it is an amazing place, the kids in the orphanage were some of the most fantastic children I have met and love having volunteers come to see them.
Teaching was hard work, but entertaining. I know for one thing, I almost regret being a sh*t at school, apologise to my teachers...
Chile:
Flew into Santiago, it reminds me of London slightly.
Spend a couple of days there then travel down to Valdivia, almost stay in an old peoples home but finally find a hostel.
It is like the Oxford of Chile, rivers, students and posh houses...
Find a farm that hires horses, so ride around in the forests and enjoy the slow pace of life. The owners try to give my a cute puppy and a horse, not very sure how I was ment to transport them round the world with me?!
Anyway I liked Chile and the people were incredibale friendly and helpful!
Coming from Peru into Chile was luxury, huge supermarkets, less dusts, felt like cleanliness heaven!
Easter Island:
Only have a few days there, but enjoyed every minute.
Found the cheapest room on the Island and shared with another guy. We hired a jeep to cover as much of the Island as possible, after I dropped the whole horse riding idea.
The Moai are spectacular and the best place to see them is the quarry where they stickl out the ground at odd angles.
The people I have a feeling are constantly out their heads but after an offer of a pineapple I decided it was pure entertainment!
Tahiti:
Hate it! It is expensive, rained a lot and generally cr*p.
Changed my flight so I didn't have to spend another night there and then spend 24hrs sitting in the airport. It costs to breath there so didn't even want to wander the streets!
So thankful to leave!
New Zealand:
As soon as I boarded the Air New Zealand flight out of Tahiti I felt better and things started looking up. The crew were fantastic and found me vegetarian food, I wanted to kiss them!
Flew over the North Island and my excitment grew as I looked down on the scenery below!
Can't wait to start exploring this amazing place.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb