The Big Day Out


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
January 21st 2006
Published: January 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I went to New Zealand's biggest outdoor Concert called the Big Day Out. It was very cool I saw lots of bands I had never heard of before; Pluto, The living end, Kings of Leon and Fat Freddy's Drop. I did some crowd surfing during the living end, which was good fun. But may favourite act was Franz Ferdinand, they put on a wicked show and I was very close to the front. At the end of Franz Ferdinand I surfed of the crowd so I could get over to a another stage to see The Mars Volta. After about half an hour of technical problems they put on an awesome show, they had lots of energy. The only shit part of the show was the angry security guards who continueously hosed down the crowd. Then the crowd responded by throughing bottles at them, the guard then starting hosing more and voilently removing anyone who was crowd surfing. At this point a left and tried to get up close for The White Stripes, but the whole floor was jammed packed with people. I then made my way to the Boiler Room, which is a dance tent that prides its seft
The Living endThe Living endThe Living end

Up close at the Living end
on getting up to 50 degrees celius. It definately wasn't 50 degrees but it was hot, I saw 2 Many DJs spin they were really good they mix in lots of old songs with really cool beats. The final band I saw was Fat Freddy's drop they are very laid back, which was a nice way to end the night


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

MudvayneMudvayne
Mudvayne

The crazy crowd at Mudvayne
Kings of leonKings of leon
Kings of leon

Me and Rowan at Kings of Leon
Franz FerdinandFranz Ferdinand
Franz Ferdinand

Walking up to the front at Franz Ferdinand
End of the nightEnd of the night
End of the night

All a little tried at the end of the night


21st January 2006

Your the shit
Love you man. The Living End is a wicked band...used to listen to them a few years ago. Glad to hear you having a good time...but where are all the ladies? unless your into fucking guys...or thai lady boys...is there something you want to tell me? I hope your parents don't read this website. If they do...HELLO Mr and Mrs Duncan!! I love you guys too! Cheers mate, lawrence
30th January 2006

Sweet
That's awesome man - I would give my left arm to see the White Stripes and my right arm to see The Mars Volta. Less pics of dudes would be good... jk...
31st January 2006

You saw FRANZ!!!!!!!
hey Ian, my mom sent me our blog address and it's sounds like you're doing NZ up right. I was going to go to a big day out in Aust. a few years back but it never happened, and it didn't have Franz or the White stripes, soooo jealous. the only shows they have here are water puppet shows, which I don't think they'd approve of crowd surfing at. I have a couple of friends down on the south island right now at dunedin, apparently there are penguins there. I just got to hanoi after a 25 hour train ride up the coats, kill me now, thank god for gravol and the medically induced coma it presents. I only have like 2 months left so i'm getting pretty antsy about coming home, but glad to see the start of your trip is going so well, keep rocking it. and that other dude who elft a meaasge does have a point, what is with all the dudes???
4th February 2006

LIAR
YEAH RIGHT SLIM....YOU WERE CROWD SURFING....WAS THE ENTIRE AUDIENCE UKRANIAN GOLD MEDAL WEIGHTLIFTERS....I DONT THINK SO...NICE TRY THOUGH. KEEP HAVING FUN BUDDY, BUT ENOUGH WITH THE TRANSPARENT LIES!!!
15th September 2006

blue shirt
Ahahaha wow this is sad. Whatever im not affraid to say it. The guy in the blue shirt is hot. email me.

Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0991s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb