The Domain


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
December 11th 2005
Published: December 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

PukekoPukekoPukeko

This colourful bird came right up to me and began pecking at my plastic bag.
I went for a walk to see some gardens one day last week. The Domain is a large park in central Auckland. It is a huge expanse of lawn, hills on both sides forming a natural amphitheatre.

There are some birds nesting in the little ponds, and these ones came forward as soon as I approached and sat down. I found out later these pukeko's I think they are called, are carnivorous.

For a bird, that means only that they will eat baby chicks, fortunately for me sitting alone on the bench.

There is a huge show on Dec 10 there, attended by thousands. It is the Christmas show for all of Auckland. I was staying a couple of blocks away and wandered over. The peaceful scene was transformed by throngs of people and long lines of Johnnys-on-the-spot.

Local celebrities and perhaps nationally known ones (they all seemed to have Kiwi accents) sang Christmas songs and little children from perhaps dance schools came up for various parts of each song - all dressed in costumes.

At about eleven they had huge red, green and white fireworks which lit up the entire area. I was back in
PukekoPukekoPukeko

They are water birds,look at the feet!
my room by then. The explosions sounded like bombs, but it was a great show.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Peaceful scenePeaceful scene
Peaceful scene

The ducks and geese left me alone
Pitcher plantPitcher plant
Pitcher plant

In the Ferniary, The Domain. Check out the Gallery where I have put more pictures of the pitcher plant, in large size. You can see the detail much more clearly. If you are interested in that sort of thing, of course.
Pitcher plantPitcher plant
Pitcher plant

In the Ferniary, The Domain.
Crowd at Christmas showCrowd at Christmas show
Crowd at Christmas show

The screen at the front helped make out who was singing
Santa hats everywhereSanta hats everywhere
Santa hats everywhere

The crowd was full of families, teenagers, young and old
Closer to the stageCloser to the stage
Closer to the stage

Jerimiah was a Bullfrog sung by Santa
Crowd shotCrowd shot
Crowd shot

Santa again
On my way outOn my way out
On my way out

I thought the whole thing kind of quaint, actually. Such a turnout for local personalities singing Christmas songs.


11th December 2005

It looks like the bird is squatting to take a dump in the second photo hahaha...and that terrible they eat chicks. I saw a clip from "March of the Penguins" where a baby penguin gets dragged and eaten by a big ugly hawk of some sort. They played it in a music store! Anyway just thought I'd stop by and let you know that I watched a DVD on New Zealand last night...it was all about places you have been, woofing and interesting tourist things to do. It looks beautiful but the host was a bit of a dork. Did you get the pictures I sent you via email? Night Night.
19th December 2005

Just caught up on all your blogs, thank goodness you were able to download photos, they are wonderful.The fish and calla lily are perfect,will have to paint a few. Hope you have warmed up by now ( if thats possible HA ).It's a winter wonderland here, more snow last night. Merry Christmas.
19th December 2005

Merry Christmas!
Your photos are fabulous! I've taken the liberty of forwarding your blog address to my brother Read and his wife Bev, because I know they'll enjoy the flora and fauna, and also your super comments! It's fun to see a little of what Christmas Down Under looks like - enjoy! Mary

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb