The land of extreme sports


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
March 29th 2008
Published: March 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After the first few days of catching up on sleep, buying the Lonely Planet and doing a lot of reading up on where we want to go (since we didn't get round to it before leaving for Thailand and Australia), we have had a healthy dose of extreme sport this week. First we tackled the 'snow-' (read 'ice') laden slopes of SnowPlanet, the indoor ski slope nearby. We all decided to have a go at snowboarding. Helen quickly caught on and it wasn't long before she was cruising down the short slope with style - left had hanging out like a 'low five'! The wall at the bottom of the slope doubled as a brake for her though, since turning and stopping were manouvres yet to be mastered. I tried the short slope for a few goes, but quickly grew tired of the trapse back to the top of it, and soon opted for the ski lift to drag me to the very top slope...well almost. I fell off the lift about 20 metres short, but that was far enough for the first go! With skiers whizzing by and snowboarders doing tricks and spins off the jumps, I went all out to make it look as easy as they did. Not so! But I did discover that a quick way to stop was to fall over head, shoulder and arm first into the ice! 1 day, 1 massage and 1 tub of Tiger Balm to recover and I was ready for more action!
Today we left early to go gliding at the local military airfield, which has the highest security fencing I've seen in New Zealand: a 3 foot high chicken wire fence with a single barbed strip on top, closely guarded by the local farmer's goat and two shetland ponies. They fell for the old 'grass is greener on the other side' trick, and we quickly had them 'eating out of our hands' 😉
Helen went up first and despite early jitters, thoroughly enjoyed the flight. I was next and only really became a bit nervous when Lionel handed over control of the glider to me. I nearly stalled the plane by being too tentative on the controls and Lionel kindly showed me how much one could throw her about!
I can see how one could get a little hooked on flying...
We're off to Waiheke Island tomorrow - and Rotorua after that...I can feel a bungy jump, zorbing, and maybe even a spot of skydiving coming on...

Advertisement



29th March 2008

Wow.
I told you this was going to be a wonderful experience. It brings back many memories for us, too.

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb