Freedom, it appears, comes at a price.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
February 6th 2008
Published: March 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Worst car journey ever

Duncans to Paihia, to Kawakawa carpak and finally resting in the garage!

FreedomFreedomFreedom

Here she is, in all her glory!

It's all for nothing if you don't have freedom

- William Wallace!


The last weeks have been quite loney. Settling back into Auckland, mising everyone back up in Paihia. And then the cavalry arrived, Chris, Adam and Caitlin! A-lright...Giggity goo. We were allthinking about getting a vehicle so investigated the backpackers car market. There was a collection of old, broken, battered and beaten vehicles with oodles of character. Adam and Caitlin were looking ofr a car and I was scoping for a campervan. The next 3 days we went back and forth, eagerly searching and reassessing what was there. I found several potential campers and ended up taking a 1987 Nissan Homy for a pre-purchase inspection at the garage next door. After a long wait, and a rather pushy German aanting to know if I was going to buy it or not, I got the report and as it was the end of the day, slept on it.


Next day was Waitangi day and the day the deeds were signed. I decided that this was the vehicle and wanted to go forth with the paper work. The only bank that was open was at sky city so me
CanadaCanadaCanada

Chris hanging from his nation!
and my body guard Chris trundled off to get the cash. The past owbers had left insprtuctions that they would take care of the reapirs needed but wanted full asking price. I agreed and she was now offically mine! Woo hoo, freedom! And hence what she was named.


Now for those of you that know me sad enough, it'll come as no surprise to you that we decided to name Adam and Caitlins car the 'Independance', mine 'Freedom' and yes, they were the two shuttles used in the film Armageddon! So, the seed was planted for the (potentially ill-fatedly named) Armgeddon road trip of New Zealand 2008, Paihia to Queenstown. Adam and Caitlin headed off to the Coromandel, destined to be reunited in April. I moved into the Camper (Freedom also known as DJ Homy (Reg DJB 270)) and began the next stage of the journey.


Wow was it weird?! First night in Freedom was difficult to say the least. I was due to be on set filming at 4am so parked up beside the security gate and put my head down. Well, it was a long night. The windows are blacked out so I people
DuncanDuncanDuncan

A 15 year re-uniting!
cant see in but I knew I needed curtains and soon. I had to keep the two hinged windows open as it got way too hot in there, but hat let in the mosquitos! Little shits they are too. Buzzing in your ear when ur half asleep and slapping urself in the hope that you just nailed the little sod! I was soon realising that I needed to get mosquito lining on the opening windows too. This continued for the week as due to filming hours I was left with little time to get the stuff I needed to make her comfy. All I can say is thank God for Duncan!


Duncan and I were best mates at the ages of about 8/9. We were at Lomond school (in a trio, Duncs, me and John mace) for about 3 years before going to different schools. I hadn't seen duncan in about 15 years before finnally re-uniting last month in Auckland, where he currently lives as a wine maker. So I had the odd night on his sofa while I got the stuff I needed to make Freedom that bit more enjoyable to live in. In the process of
Andi's BirthdayAndi's BirthdayAndi's Birthday

The Gang, or whats still standing of the many.
this I had a problem with an administratitive item; well, when I bought her, the info on her said that the WOF (Warrent of fitness, same as an MOT) was in date and expired in about 5 months. Unfortunatly I took the paper work at its word and didnt check the actual disk. When having parked close to the backpackers one evening I found 2 tickets on her, one at $40 for parking the wrong way on the other side of the road, which I had no idea was illeagal, fair cop. And the other for $200 for an out of dat e WOF. Absolutly livid. Paid the $40 one but am attempting to dispute the $200 fine, pleading ignorance!


Ok, so curtains and Mossy nets in place, new bedding and many unnecessary items that make Homy more homely, stereo (with remote, result) and we're loving living in Freedom. The only thing I was unhappy about was the lack of competance I felt about the pre-purchase inspection. they failed to mention many things that I noticed so I took her to the AA for a second inspection. Oh dear. The first thing they said was that she wont
0800 ANDI AND NICKY TO TAKE THE MICKY.COM0800 ANDI AND NICKY TO TAKE THE MICKY.COM0800 ANDI AND NICKY TO TAKE THE MICKY.COM

Think it speaks for itself really!
pass her next WOF. There was sever structural damage and rust that was WOF failing and were amazed she had passed the last inspection. Ah, this means i'm potentially out of pocket by $3500. I was livid and still am quite pissed at the garage for not telling me this info as I would heve not bought the Camper if I had known this info. My belief is it is criminal to say the vehicle is ok when it obviously isn’t and I realized I might have to investigate legal actions, after obtaining quotes on the structural repairs to get it to WOF standard.


Well, before I could do this, I had decided to return to Paihia (I know) and surprise Andi for his Birthday that weekend. So, having done a full day on set, 4am till 8pm, I jumped into Freedom and headed north. I had a bad feeling about the journey even that day as the weather had started to turn and instinct was ringing inside saying, this might be a tough ride. Tough was an understatement.


I was blown everywhere for 5 hours, even nearly into the side barrier of the Auckland city
The CavalryThe CavalryThe Cavalry

Nicky to the rescue!
bridge. The wind and rain were difficult at best , for the whole journey. At one point, I was over taken by a twined truck juggernaught that spat so many loose chippings at me that I had to slam on the breaks and was in total fear of the front window chipping and shattering before my eyes, miraculously, it didnt. About half way there (having didged many loggs and debris on the road) I was aware that Freedom was suddenly more blustery and was trying to see if the windows on my side had somehow flipped open. They hadn't. What did seem quite surreal lwas being able to see the undergrowth flying past through the passenger side middle window, usually you cant as its a fixed tinted one. I looked again, in fact I probably double taked it about 7/8 times before admitting that yup, there was no window there now!


Perplexed, stunned, disbelieving and unsure wether i felt like laughing or crying, I carrie on untill there was a place safe to stop. Still in disbelief, I attempted to tape up the curtain over the frame in the pouring wind and howling rain. Not wuddled mords, the
ViewViewView

Well, at least the scenery was still cool!
wind was pouring and the rain howling! So that lasted all of about 30 seconds and had no choice but to keep going until I found an open pertol station. Got there and tapped her up slightly more efficantly. Not long after we were greeted by thick fog and could barely see on the land slidden cliffy roads for more than about 10 feet. Despite all this, and the feeling that she was destined to now break down, in the mist, no mobile reception, side of a cliff, on a bend, rain howling in the side missing window, wind pouring in with an icy chill, and that I would have to spend the night there, she made it to Paihia at 1:30am.


Suffice to say I was a total wreck at this point and could barely speak in coherrent sentances when I found Andi and surprised him! The only thing that could be done was a few stiff Dack Daniels to settle the nerves! It was wonderful to be back. And I was soon welcomed by so many old familiar faces. Poor Nicky, even she wasn't expecting a tipsy face waking her up at 4am that morning! I managed to catch up with most of the people I wanted to and was reminded in actuality that paihia is just one big hangover! I got a call from UW3 and they wanted me to work on Monday so said my goodbyes in this flying visit and headed off sunday afternoon, or at least, I did try to.


Immediatly on leaving the town, Freedom farted and decided to share with me an overwhelming hot fumy burning smell that had my anxieties on overdrive. I stopped and inspected her but there was little that could be done by myself, knowing very little about cars. We got as far as Kawakawa before I had no choice to stop and phone the ruddy AA. Mechanic guy came and looked and suggested it was either the head gasket (Oh, my God!) or the thermostat (please let it be this!) and I would have to get one of the local garages to look at it the following day. So, i could either sleep in her, windowless, in a rainy empty car park that boded for a scene out of Mad Max, or, dial 0800 PLEASE COME AND RESCUE ME ANDI AND NICKY, thankfully i got through.


I'm now begining to lose count of the amount of time i have, and tried to, leave this place! I was greated with great laughter and accuastions of self destroyed vehicle conspiracies! Well, the pub bekoned and it gave me the chance to see those few that I had missed. The only problem being was that I was needed for a continuity shoot at UW3 and mucked them about! Under the circumstances, I chose to stay another day and stowe away on the Kiwi bus on Tuesday afternoon. The Kawakawa garage said they too were amazed it had got its past WOF and I should pursue that line. So here I am, other side of the world, chasing 2 garages with leagal cliams!


I have had to hire a car while finishing off the work at UW3 and have checked back into the backpackers. The garage have indicated they think it is the thermostat (there is God!) and are carrying out the work on her. I hope to be back in Freedonm after this weekend. It is nice to be back in and around lots of other travellers, but it is also very costly and I can see the money ticking down every second here. Auckland is an expensive place. Well, upto date on the adventure of the Tartan Traveller, who knows what beckons next? Any issues with the Camper will come at no surprise and I have leant to become even more philosphical than before due to the Camper, and the fact that Freedom, it appears, comes at a price.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.244s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb