I'm leaving Auckland!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
October 27th 2005
Published: October 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I'm really doing a happy dance right now. I finally found a vehicle for myself. After a very frustrating week of visiting backpacker car lots, I saw an ad in the paper for a car lot located in Mount Wellington. Mt. Wellington is about a 40 minute bus ride north of the city. I happened to stumble upon a 1994 Toyota Hiace (sorry I have no pictures at the moment). It was like the clouds parted and a sunbeam shone right on it! It's white, 2.0L, diesel (gas here is 1.30/ltre, diesel is 90c/litre), with 200,000 kms on it. It was used as a vehicle for an older electrician. It's great, it's a clean slate for me to do what I want with. Not like yukky vans that have been owned by who knows how many backpackers before me, and usually they're older models too. There's no bed in the back yet, and no curtains, but those are really small things in the great scheme of trying to buy a decent car in this great city of Auckland. I almost cried one day because I was so frustrated, and started to think, "Tara, maybe you're just too darn picky, and it's all you Dad's fault because of it." The guys on the lot seemed to be surprised that I was going over the vehilce with a fine toothed comb. Before I put any money down on the van, I paid $135 for a very thorough inspection. Nothing major, or I obviously wouldn't be buying it. No engine problems, compression test was pretty good. Seems the shocks are a little worn, but like I said, the grand scheme, it's a minor issue. So today it's having an oil change and coolant flush done on it, and the drive belt tightened so it doesn't squeek. I'm trying to find someone to build a bed frame in the back of it, because there are no hardware shops here in downtown, and obviously I have no place to build a bed frame while I'm in Auckland. My car salesman Chris, is speaking to his family (he's really a carpenter) to see they can whip me up a bed frame. Otherwise I'll buy a cheap inflatable for the time being and build one myself later.
I'm leaving Auckland tomorrow morning early, so I can avoid hitting any major traffic on Highway 1 (the major highway in the north island) I'm a tad nervous about it. I'm very anxious to get out of the city. It seems to wear on you when you know what beautiful scenery is out there waiting for you, but you're stuck because you dont' have a car yet. A nice Scottish girl named Karen, is coming north with me. We're going to visit the Bay of Islands area, and maybe doing a cheap boat cruise overnight. It will be good because I don't feel like I've done much except run around Auckland all day, everyday. We're going to drive up the east coast and take our time. It's so much better then getting on a tour bus, because you can't stop if you want to.
I filed for a change of ownership for the van at the post office this morning. You'd be surprised what they can do at a post office. I'm going to walk over to AA (CAA, AAA) here, and get a membership for the van. I figured, the van's in good shape, but it never hurts to have roadside assistance.
Another mindless fact: the bus drivers give you change if you a $10 bill to pay for your fare.

Advertisement



27th October 2005

Have a great time
Good to hear that you are mobile. All the best from aunt Ena @ Uncle John
2nd November 2005

Cheers!
Sounds like you are having a good time - lucky you. Think warm thoughts back to us in slightly chilly Canada.

Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb