Mum's down there waiting for me and she doesn't even know it


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
December 15th 2007
Published: February 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

To be honest, when I came to Japan this time knowing it was for at least 2 or 3 years I was undecided on whether or not to make a trip home in between time. But once I had booked the ticket and started to tell people I was coming I got quite excited about being back home, and was really looking forward to three weeks of summer which didn't automatically mean it was going to be in the mid-thirties before breakfast (unlike the stinking hot summers you can get in Japan).

Pretty much everyone knew I was coming home - except Mum. I can't remember how many times I dodged the subject or just plain didn't seemed that interested in the idea. Sorry ;-)

Enter a couple of the siblings, and their part in the deceit.
- My sister tried to intercept Mum's Christmas present but it found it's way into the postal system (luckily arriving before I left for the overnight journey to the airport).
- My brother sent an email request to Mum saying that he was going to be arriving back from Sydney where he had been to see a client, and could she please pick him up from the airport. Obliging mother that she is she came to the party and played her own part in the web of deceit.

Had we pulled it off? - given that her jaw dropped for about 10 seconds when I appeared, I'm guessing we did :-)



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

TravelBlog Christmas drinksTravelBlog Christmas drinks
TravelBlog Christmas drinks

L-R Tommy (claire n tommy), Vik (Occasionally Bob), Robbie (Occasionally Bob), Jo (Jo Trouble) and Claire (claire n tommy).


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb