This is the business!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
January 18th 2008
Published: January 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Aukland HarbourAukland HarbourAukland Harbour

Interesting fact for you. New Zealand has the highest number of boats per capita of any country in the world. One look at Aukland Harbour proves it.
The adventure has begun! I arrived into Aukland early Tuesday morning, fresh off my business class flight on Quantas. The seats were amazing; much better than American Airlines. It was my first time on a 747, and I was seated upstairs, three rows from the cockpit! The seat reclined into a bed, and I think it was the first time I've ever got a proper sleep on a flight. I didn't want to leave😊

My sleeping accomodation was about to be downgraded as I headed straight to my first hostel. I met a Canadian on the bus who was headed to the same place and we spent most of the day together exploring Aukland. The highlight was probably the Aukland museum. Originally a war memorial, it now includes a history of New Zealand and the Maori culture. We even got to see some traditional Maori performances. Randomly, we stumbled upon a filming of a Power Rangers episode. I tried to get on as an extra, but they were not having it. I guess my TV debut will have to wait.

Aukland is a nice enough city with a beautiful port. However, it is merely an international gateway to the
For those about to rock....For those about to rock....For those about to rock....

Inspecting the military equipment at the Aukland Museum...
rest of New Zealand, which is the real treasure.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Advertising Genius!Advertising Genius!
Advertising Genius!

Those advertising executives on Madison Avenue have got nothing on the subtle kiwi advertising prowess!
My pad or yours?My pad or yours?
My pad or yours?

Check out the size of these lily pads in the Wintergarden (greenhouse) on the same grounds as the Aukland museum.
Take the plungeTake the plunge
Take the plunge

In true kiwi style, you can do a sky jump off of Aukland's tallest building, Sky City. I think I'll wait till I get to Queenstown...


20th January 2008

Nice Cannon!
Looks like your having a "blast" down under! Keep us posted!

Tot: 0.265s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0739s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb