Kiwi Please


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Ponsonby
February 19th 2007
Published: February 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi All
Sadly I have now left the sunny shores of Australia.....but it gets good coz I'm in New Zealand! I shall miss Oz terribly but I have a feeling that the best is yet to come in Middle-earth. I've only investigated the city of Auckland so far but from what I can gather, NZ is very green, peaceful and lush. Very uncommercial and ideal for the backpacker who just wants to 'get lost'. So far I have visited Auckland Zoo (good, but still not up to Steve Irwin's Zoo). I've also sun-bathed on a which with black sand and trekked through some gorgeous rainforest. My favourite part so far has been our walk up Mount Eden to watch the sunset. The view was amazing as the main part of the city is on one side next to the beautifully lit harbour, and then on the other side you have stunning hills and the sea. We went up there on Valentine's Day night with our beloved Kiwi friend, Snowy. 1 guy, 4 ladies. What a lucky boy! Then we took him for a romantic meal at Burger Fuel (biggest burger I've eaten to date). Am meeting up with my dear Kiwi friend Kelley in the next couple of days for some camping to enjoy the greenery and live a simple life....ah, bliss!
Moment of comedy: on one of our last nights in Brisbane we were drowsy and opted for an early night. Tucked up, we read our books to wind down. We had a room mate who we were yet to meet. As the atmosphere settled into peace and prepatory slumber, a French-Canadian guy saunters in sporting a 'special' hat. He announces he's just popping back for his lighter, and enquire why we're in bed. We tell him that our late nights in Byron have caught up with us so it's beddy byes for us. He says 'I have a perfect idea' and whips out a stereo. He pops on some Neil Young, turns the light off and wishes us sweet dreams. We're left in the dark (still holding our now useless books) listening to Mr Young croon away. Twas a special moment folks! Andre will pop into my head whenever I hear Mr Young (or smell filthy socks).


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Kite Kite WaterfallsKite Kite Waterfalls
Kite Kite Waterfalls

Pronounced 'kitty kitty'.


Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.1533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb