R & ER in Auckland


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Parnell
June 6th 2007
Published: June 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

A view to central AucklandA view to central AucklandA view to central Auckland

Take a closer look at the billboard
Well, I told you there was good reason for not writing and here it is. When I arrived in Auckland on May 30th I was feeling a bit under the weather. Nothing major, I thought, just a bad migraine. Then I got sick, 4 times that night, and felt feverish. So the next morning, I bought a thermometer (guess I really should be travelling with one anyway) and found out that I had a 102 degree fever. Not normal for me. So I checked myself into the ER. The doctors were a little stumped by my symptoms, but released me after a few hours of filling me up on IV and tell me to come back if anything gets worse. Well, two days later things do get worse; I become bright red head-to-toe and covered in white spots. This was a new look for me, so again I go to the ER, but this time I get to stay overnight. Woo-fucking-hoo. I was visited by a team of Infectious Disease doctors and dermatologists, who all think that I contracted Dengue Fever, a virus that doesn't have a immunization, and all I can do is wait out the bug until I start feeling better. The positive in all this is that I stayed in the nicest room yet of my travels. I had my own bathroom and a very fluffy down pillow which made me very pleased in spite of my itching that would not be appeased by drugs. However, I think given the price of the hospital suite, I could've gotten more luxury for my money at the Westin (but they don't have cute dermatologists there, so it is a toss-up!). All in all, I am feeling much better. I go back to the hospital tomorrow, hopefully for the last time, for a consultation with the doctors. The lab results will be in and they might be able to tell me more conclusively what strange disease I picked up along my travels. Regardless, it is time to move on from here. Although I've only seen the hostel, hospital and pharmacy, and today a little of the city center, I am ready to head out to Lord of the Rings territory. I want to hike in Mordor and bungee jump in Queenstown, so I can't sit around here having cute docs check me out all day. It is time to fly.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0899s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb