End of New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Central
June 27th 2010
Published: June 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I keep forgetting that it's winter here! Devonport was lovely on Thursday. It's such a small island but the weather can change a little, I expect because there are two volcanoes so the wind coming off the sea, the basins inbetween each volcanoe can really change things. I went to Devonport with some people that I am sharing a dorm with and we went to the top of Mount Victoria and North Head Point. Both very steep volcanoes but because they are not that high it doesn't take that long to get to the top. The views were amazing and you can see either volcano, the beautiful sea and the Auckland Skyline. North Head Point is a little less steep and there they have the 'disappearing gun' which they used (once) to protect themselves during the second world war. When they did use it, it apparently smashed a lot of house windows across the island and they had so many complaints that they never used it again! Good thing they weren't invaded! We also walked along the beach alongside the lava rocks and found a wonderful little bakery and had lunch. The ferry to and from Devonport was very short I doubt it was even ten minutes.

Unfortunately the weather really was awful on Friday so my trip to Rangitoto was cancelled! Boo! But then yesterday (Saturday) was really lovely, windy but had some lovely sunshine. Unfortunately Aotorea Square and Auckland Art Museum are both being renovated so I didn't get to go to either. Most of the things you do here tend to be outside, I've just tried to venture out to St Patricks Cathedral and its started pouring it down so I'm going to have to wait a little longer. Lucky for Aucklanders most of the pavements are covered by shop coverings so you can still walk down the street without getting too wet!

I've enjoyed the natural beauty and the Maori culture here in Auckland but I am also quite ready to move onto Melbourne. I think if I were to come back to NZ I think that I would like to do a tour of both the islands but perhaps at a different time of year.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb