Kelly Tarltons


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Central
June 23rd 2010
Published: June 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

After wondering and changing my mind countless times last night and this morning I decided to go out to Kelly Tarltons Antarctic Encounter and Underwater World. So I got up early headed down to the sky tower where there is a free shuttle to the venue, in a shark shaped shuttle no less, and entered my way in. There is a lot of hype here and a lot of adverts here but when I went in I have to admit I wasn't overly impressed. Don't get me wrong it was good fun and certainly child friendly but it is a lot smaller than I thought it would be and could all be done in an hour or so, or if you wanted to stay longer you can plan your visit around the feeding times etc.

I saw the stingray being fed and they were huge! The poor woman who was feeding them certainly had her work cut out for her because they come up onto the person feeding them and you can see the complete underside of the stingray and see the mouth opening and closing. It's pretty amazing. I also went on the snowcat ride around the antartic enclosure where they had all the penguins and they are pretty big, easily the size of a four or five year old. Funny things.

After a long walk back I have to say I fell asleep back at the hostel! In fact it's only 7pm as I'm writing now in New Zealand and I could easily sleep, but instead I shall drink tea!

Tomorrow I'm going on a trip to Devonport and hopefully the day after a trip to Rangitoto Island.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb