Nice city...I'll take it.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Central
November 9th 2009
Published: November 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well just checking in so you all know I'm alive and well.

Well, I'm alive anyway, having become a little ill halfway to LA and still not shaken it. Also, the nasty people here say I can't book in til 1pm. I got here about 9am. It's now 11.40am and I'm somewhat sick of wearing these damn clothes, particularly as I've just been exploring Auckland. So here are the findings thus far.

1. Mount Eden is something I have to get to the top of this week, hopefully tomorrow.
2. 9.30 in the morning here is like midday in Havant. In July.
3. The Skytower is frakking high.
4. These people like knives - I have so far seen an enormous store known simply as The House Of Knives, and in a small arcade I found the smaller brother The King Of Knives. If you think you know the answer to why this is the case, please send your answer on a postcard to "Kiwis Are Frakking Mental Competition, PO Box 123, London"
5. I found a small park which was up a really steep hill that I hope to frequent.
6. My MP3 player is clearly out to get me - after all the time spent uploading, naming and sorting (not to mention listening to in order to delete rubbish) MP3's on my laptop, the 3,000 odd I had hoped to listen to over the coming months appears to only number around 800. If you have any suggestions as to why this happened please send them on a postcard to "Should Have Bought An iPhone Anyway Survey, PO Box 123, London"
7. Babies are very annoying on aircraft
8. New Zealand cinema is VERY strange.
9. Pixar have done it again with Up.
and just to make it even 10. My sunglasses are in my car.

I shall update you towards the end of the week with my exploits and hopefully there'll be some photos to upload, although knowing my luck as I went out without the camera today it'll probably be the only day of sunshine!

TTFN
Greg

Advertisement



9th November 2009

P.S.
Totally forgot to mention the Domino's Pizza menu I just swiped - I'm so framing it and sending a photocopy to Fareham, so much more interesting - Meatosaurus anyone?
9th November 2009

oi oi
Glad you arrived safely get some free beer down yer neck
10th November 2009

Nice...
Glad you've arrived alive and semi-well!! :) Keep smiling and blogging :) xXx
10th November 2009

Sunglasses in the car
Want me to go and get the sunglasses out the car for you G? Presume in the short stay car park at Heathrow?
11th November 2009

re: #6 above
Is it because you are no good with technical stuff? xxx

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.06s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb