The Rocky Beginnings


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Central
December 5th 2019
Published: December 15th 2019
Edit Blog Post

I've had some emotions yesterday.
I arrived, was completely and utterly exhausted, and started thinking about my situation. I already missed my family and friends, and I didn't know what to do with myself. They are half a world and a few timezones away; when I'm awake, they are asleep, and that doesn't make anything easier.
I felt very much alone - even though I know it's ridiculous. After all, I'm staying in a room full of people going through the exact same thing as me.

Today we had our first workshop, and that rekindled my excitement to be here.
After that, we went out for lunch; we went to a pizza place, and I had some beer. I couldn't help but think of the last time I had pizza and beer - Sunday evening before I left, with my best friend's family.
I miss them.
Auckland is not really my thing; I want to go out to the country, where I feel more at home.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb