Don't Worry... Be Happy.


Advertisement
French Polynesia's flag
Oceania » French Polynesia
January 15th 2007
Published: January 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I had my hardest laugh of our trip today on our way to the internet café. As you know, Gene and I rented bikes yesterday as our mode of transportation. We rented them only for 24 hours and had to return them today no later than 10:00 a.m. Considering the internet café does not open until 9:00 a.m., we had only one hour to get there, check our email and get back to the hotel to return the bikes. That means, rain or shine, we were going.

We were lucky from the get-go since it was only drizzling when we left. However, my pelvic bones are so bruised, I could only make it as far as the internet café. Gene dropped me off at the café and trekked further down the road to the ATM. Well, when he returned, he was drenched from head to toe with mud all over his back from his neck to his ass. Being the sport that he is, he didn’t say a word as he sat and checked his email. Time was soon up and we had to head back to the hotel to return our bikes.

When we got outside, the first thing I noticed (aside from the heavy rain) was that Gene’s bicycle handles were drooping all the way down to the ground. I commented on it and started to cackle and got scolded. Well, not only were the handles loose and sliding north to south, they were actually sliding out of the bolt from left to right. Gene hopped onto the bike, swearing of course, and I watched as his rusted-through broken seat drooped on the left side. He was riding along in the rain ahead of me with his handle bars pointed toward the sky while I sang aloud, “Here’s a little song I wrote…you might want to sing it note for note…don’t worry…be happy….” For those of you who have heard me sing, I’m sure you know that my singing and humming is the last thing you want to hear as you are riding a broke-ass bike in the pouring rain with cars driving by and splashing mud all over you. Don’t worry…be happy now.


Advertisement



16th January 2007

nice
ass long as the bike seat didn't break and send the rod up your ass, it could be worse. Atleast with all the rain, the mosquitos are sleeping. dont worry, get drunk.
18th January 2007

Bike riding
Gene never rode a bike for very long. He went from the crib to a BMW in nothing flat.
18th January 2007

HOLY CRAP....
GINA WHEN I READ ABOUT YOU SINGING DON'T WORRY BE HAPPY I ABOUT PEED MY PANTS. OH HOW I CAN HEAR YOU SINGING AND LAUGHING TO YOURSELF. CAN WAIT TO READ MORE. LOVE JEN
18th January 2007

I miss that cackle already.
19th January 2007

Laugh Out Loud
This entry made me laugh out loud. Poor Gene. I could just picture this scenerio! xoxo!
19th January 2007

how could you miss the cackle?
i can hear it from all the way over here in NY...
24th January 2007

OMG!
I am reading your blogs and just dying over here envisioning the two of you and all of your antics! I am so busy here at work, but can't stop reading!!

Tot: 0.03s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 18; dbt: 0.0135s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.1kb