And now.... the end is near!


Advertisement
French Polynesia's flag
Oceania » French Polynesia » Tahiti
January 24th 2006
Published: January 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

What can I say about Tahiti..... Expensive! It cost me nearly 3 pounds for half a beer the robbing gits! Other than that it's a beautiful Island, I stayed in the capital Papeete but there is not much too do here. If your planning on visiting the the area you really only need a night here and then get yourself to the smaller islands. Ideally bring yourself a friend and plenty of cash also.

Although there isn't much too do I'm not complaining as my sun burn from the Rarotonga was quite paingful and so I tried to stay away from the sun as much as possible. I 've started to peal and it reminds of the guy from the Austin Powers movie - It's not a pretty sight!

French is the main langauge on the island, so it's only right when you visit these places you speak the local lingo. However it appears that Bonjour Cock and Murky Bucket aren't what the locals are looking for. I've had more problems here with the lingo than ever I had in Asia. I'm told that most of the loacls speak English but they seemed reluctent to talk to me in it.

One good thing I liked about Papeete is that by hte sea front they have a mobile food court with International foods (According to the local guide book) at affordable prices. Well if you count Burgers - USA, Pizza - Italy, Steak with Sauce - France and Chinese then yes it is an international food court. But for less than 10 pounds english its good value for the area.

Well thats all I've got to tell you. I'd wrote this out once before but the PC in Tahiti crashed so thats why your getting it now. Next Blog - Los Angeles!

Advertisement



27th January 2006

three quid -
must have hit the wallet hard by the time you got to your 15th half buddy.
27th January 2006

just wanted to say hello :)

Tot: 0.308s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1018s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb