Time Travel is Possible


Advertisement
Cook Islands' flag
Oceania » Cook Islands » Rarotonga
January 21st 2006
Published: January 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well after a shot stay in Fiji it was on to the Cook Islands. What's weird is that when I left it was the 14th of Jan about 4.00pm but when I arrived in Rarotonga it was the 13th of Jan and about 11.00pm proving that time travel really is possible!

The Main Island of the Cooks is Rarotonga and it covers about 56sq miles of land. As you look up the hills it looks like the backdrop from the TV series lost, a see of green all the way to the top. It was quite late when I arrived so I get settled in to my hostel.

The next morning myself and another guest head into 'town' to have a mooch around. Now maybe I should clarify a few things here. The whole of the Cook Islands population is about 19,000 half of which live on the main island. So when I say town it's not really much of one, however, it's Saturday and the market is on. Like a lot of places I've visited most of the stalls all sell the same things but there is some nice stuff. In the evening I head back into town for a few social ones, now I know this place is small but the town is dead. I head into a bar called Banana Court and there must be all of 3 people in there. I decide to have one then head back to the hostel. Well these things don't always go to plan and I end up playing pool with the few locals that are in there. It 8-2 to England either I'm getting better or they really are pants at Pool here. A couple of the locals take me to the local Night Club TJ's. Turns out one of them works there so we get in free :-) As the night goes on I know I've had too much and head back to the hostel - Sunday is lost due to a hangover but it gives me chance to meet everyone else staying in the hostel and they like a good bunch.

On Monday I decide to be a bit more active and bike round the Island - 32km in total, well it seemed like a good idea at the time but with the sun beating down on me I sweating with in a minute of being on it and didn't stop till I finished. Half we round I stop for a drink, my step mother would be proud as I have a pot of tea and watch the world go by. Four hours after setting off I'm back at the hostel - I'm not doing that again as it's too much Like hard work.

The next three days are taken up completing my Scuba Diving and I'm now a certified PADI Open Water Diver. For anyone who hasn't dived give it go. There's a whole nother world down there!

On the Thursday evening on advice from my Cousin I head out to an Island Night. Island nights are where the locals put on a show of traditional music and dance. My cousin is not wrong about the dancing, it is better than the Fijian's and the girls do wear coconuts :-)

Friday I opt for something more relaxed and head to a place called Black Rock for a bit of sunbathing. Well now I really do look like a British tourist I'm bright red and have burnt my shoulders quite bad. Well there's only one thing for the pain - a few social ones down town. Friday night is the main night out and the bars are open till 2am. I end up in the Coco bar drink with a bunch of Locals who now live in New Zealand. One of them takes a shine to me and a beer seems to appear every 5 mins. He also gets me to dance with every woman in the place. I now have some new cook Island moves to show off next time in Tiles back home!

Well that’s about it from the Cooks next Blog Tahiti.


Advertisement



23rd January 2006

Cook Island Moves!
Can't wait to see the 'Cook Island Moves' in Tiles! Maybe they will help you score!?
25th January 2006

New moves?
Bob, I cannot recall you ever being on the dance floor in Tiles, but then i'm normally rather tired when i'm in there and might have missed your turn on the floor.

Tot: 0.494s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb