Pottering around


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji
July 2nd 2016
Published: June 26th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -18.1333, 178.417

The last two or three days have been quiet but relaxing. Fletcher starts lecturing each morning at 8am so is up and away by 7-45am. I take my time but have usually got organised by 10am. On Wednesday morning I walked to the Fiji Museum which is just the other side of Albert Park, set in the beautiful Thurston Gardens. I had visited here nearly 40 years ago so thought I would take another look. It is a mall building but has several rooms depicting the history and culture of Fiji. The largest room contains, among other artefacts, an outrigger canoe which was the main form of transport before white settlement. This one is grand with a cabin on deck. I spent a pleasant hour or so wandering through the displays and reviving my knowledge of Fiji history.

From there I walked to the Archives and started my search for the results Fletcher wants. I trawled through the newspapers from April-May 1931 without much luck. Then I went to the supermarket to renew supplies. This pattern was repeated on Thursday, though I did not return to the shops and my search through July-September papers was also in vain.

Yvonne arrived on Wednesday night so it was great to catch up with her and her assistant Anthony Curry. We all went to the Maya Dhaba restaurant for dinner last night which was excellent. They also had WiFi!!

It has been raining for the past two days which has rather restricted us. With Fletcher having a half day break on Friday we had a pizza for lunch at the Bad Dog, went on the internet at the library then came back to the hotel. We did have a nice Teppanyaki meal at the Shabu Shabu restaurant last night with Yvonne but there is not a lot more to do as it is quite cool so even the pool is not inviting.

So it has been a quiet few days, with a swim in the pool(before the rain) and reading my other occupations. But there is no cooking or cleaning to do and the people are so friendly and welcoming. Fletcher still has 3 days of the course to go and then from July7th-9th the Melanesian Championships will keep us both busy and occupied.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb