Fiji


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji
March 30th 2009
Published: May 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Upon landing in Fiji it felt like we were there to be preyed on. Our ride to the resort wasn’t there, a guy was trying to sell me pot and we overpaid for the taxi ride. I asked the driver if there were any grocery stores where we would be staying. We would be 15 miles from the nearest market, completely dependent on whatever the resort charged us. Arriving at the Seashell @ Momi Budget Resort around 10pm we were told not to drink anything but bottled water.

I woke up at 6am to hot and muggy weather. After Emily got up and we went to have breakfast we noticed no one else was eating. We asked around and learned we were the ONLY people staying at a resort (which could hold hundreds). After a couple days other guests began to arrive. We had a some nice talks with a couple of girls from the UK. I played guitar with some of the local talent.

I was keen on trying surfing so we went out our third day and gave it a go. The spot we went to was miles from shore. I received a few brief instructions and was sent out. Once I was in the right position I tried to catch one but missed. The next wave that came after knocked into me, driving and flipping me back. This happened 4-5 more times. With each wave it would force me under while I held onto the board spinning like a top, at one point I lost the board and frantically pulled it back in. Losing my breath became and issue and I realized that I could drown. Thankfully that next set was weaker, allowing me to battle past each wave, still being pushed back, but closing my distance with the boat. I finally made it back in. The captain asked if I was OK. I was not. I laid down and burped water for the next 20 minutes. I still would like to try surfing again sometime!

Other activities at the resort included ping-pong, billiards, swimming, husking coconuts, reading Ayn Rand, finding places to stay cool, Kava ceremonies, fasting and eating bad overpriced meals. There were other activities, too, but we were either under the minimum (being that we were the only 2 people there for awhile and you needed at least 4 people for most activities) or we thought it was grossly overpriced.

The extreme heat, sun and bugs began to take there toll. On the last day Emily broke out in what appeared to be lots of large, itchy bug bites. This was on top of the sun burns she received. While waiting for airport transfers we were engulfed by smokey air and stench. Our driver informed us that the neighbors were burning their daughter that had died. Oi. After being nickled and dimed, trapped somewhere we didn't want to be, and a few less than desirable experiences for both of us, we've decided that we aren't the tropical resort type (I miss New Zealand!). The one thing that we both really loved about Fiji, though, were the skies. The skies, especially the sunsets, were never a disappointment!

While in the airport we reunited with our friends Clay and Aimee that we met in Nelson Lakes. We shared stories and slammed a few Fijian beers. Off to LA! Moce (good bye!)!


Additional photos below
Photos: 56, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Funny Yet Serious SignFunny Yet Serious Sign
Funny Yet Serious Sign

You can hear coconuts falling with a thud all over. They would certainly hurt if they found you!
SalamanderSalamander
Salamander

This little guy fell on top of Emily's head while playing ping pong!
And Frogs TooAnd Frogs Too
And Frogs Too

There were always frogs in the showers!
Ping Pong!Ping Pong!
Ping Pong!

The only free thing you can do at the resort... We played lots of ping pong.


Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb