Fiji


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji
May 13th 2008
Published: May 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Kava drinkingKava drinkingKava drinking

Kava taste like muddy water I was told, but since it has a narcotic effect ...
Fiji a group of islands is north east of New Zealand and not far from the equator.
I booked and paid for bed, boat and food for two weeks before arriving so didn't have to think about anything once I went there 😊
The rain season was supposed to be over, but almost half the days there was some rain, but the other time it was sunshine and very hot 😊

First I stayed a night on the main island before jumping on a boat to head out to the smaller islands to the east.

Remaining days I stayed at 5 islands and Fiji was incredibly relaxing and I barely had any time to read since I was talking all the time, playing cards, snorkeling, eating or some activity provided by the resorts.

First one was South Sea island which was tiny, yet all activities were free and time went by quickly and was one of the best islands I stayed at. They even had a small katamaran sailing boat which I sailed by myself around the island 😊 Other things I did was fishfeeding, snorkeling, volleyball and going around in a semi-submersible, a kind of glass bottom boat, where you could sit down inside of the boat under the water surface and see the fish in the water without getting wet.

2nd island was Kuata where we walked around a bit and to the top of the island. Also went fishing without getting anyting and on a village visit which was mainly about souvenir shopping.

3rd island Korovou where my UNO cards came to good use 😊 Beach was very long here and we found many crabs to play with, heh.

4th island Coral View which had one of the best snorkeling I seen. Huge amount of fish and even jellyfish at the Blue Lagoon where I got stung like never before! Had red marks on my skin from the jellyfish stings for weeks :/

Between island was Wana Taki cruise boat where Jana and Farina got to celebrate their birthdays.

5th island was Beachcomber, which is known as the party island. Hugest dorm room ever, yet the food was so good and abundant that it made up for it and more 😊 Unfortunately I cut my toe here when running 10 m at the beach and it has taken a long time to heal 😞

Some other photos can be seen at facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=40598&l=b3e96&id=602434574


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

On the top of Kuata islandOn the top of Kuata island
On the top of Kuata island

with Waia Lailai island on the other side
Garbage dump in the forestGarbage dump in the forest
Garbage dump in the forest

Tourist are probably not supposed to see this?
Rainy day at KorovouRainy day at Korovou
Rainy day at Korovou

with Claire and Jana
Entertainment at Coral ViewEntertainment at Coral View
Entertainment at Coral View

The blond Fiji guy I was told had an scottish dad, hence the unusual skintone
Dance competition !Dance competition !
Dance competition !

When the music stops you had to do things like lift the girl up and stay still until the music starts again.


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb